Upgrade time...

in #guns6 years ago (edited)

Finally. I've had my Glock 43 for about 9 months now and it's been wearing the factory sights for that whole time. The time has come for change!

image

These sights are steel and the front sight glows allowing for a better sight picture in times of lowlight... The factory sights are plastic and while you certainly can shoot with them they are not very precise and are prone to breakage (falling off the gun) at the most inopportune time.

So the old ones have to come off....

image

Welcome to my half-ass work bench and makeshift sight pusher... Also know as my folding table/desk, a clamp, a brass punch, and a hammer. If it's looks stupid but works it's not stupid.... Or something like that.

I forgot/was too frustrated to take any photos while driving the new rear sight into place. There was colorful language involved and I miraculously didn't injure myself or the gun.

And Voila!

image
image

A nice eye catching front sight and a boring but solid rear sight. Just the way it should be!

My method for this is not exactly ideal, but it gets the job done and is very cost effective. I could have bought a special sight pusher tool, but I rarely change out my sights so buying the tool is out. I also could have paid someone else to put them in, but why spend the extra money?
Granted my rear sight may not be perfectly centered, but I don't carry enough right now for that to be an immediate problem. Before I concealed carry this pistol outside of my home though I will shoot several magazines through to ensure I am comfortable with where the rounds are impacting. If it's a little off a couple whacks with the punch and hammer will fix it right up!

Any of my fellow Steemians complete any DIY projects today?

Sort:  

Whatever it takes to get the job done is what I say. Just as long as it's moral and legal.

Hahaha yea exactly! Well I'm very secure with my method of changing out my sights being both moral and legal!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58