.338 Lapua Magnum rounds all clean and loaded

in #guns5 years ago

Well here is how my brass came out of the sonic cleaner (see previous post).
IMG_20191005_134511.jpg
All clean and reloaded 40 this afternoon. The little guy on the right is a .223 just for size comparison. (Cause size DOES matter) lol.

IMG_20191005_134425.jpg
They are much cleaner than any I have done before, but I don't think come close to the shiny, new look that other folks are getting with the dry media or stainless media mixes.

IMG_20191005_073222.jpg
Here is the brass only, just after cleaned and dried. Not a shiny, polished look, but way better than just wiping off with a rag. Compare with how dirty and ugly they were looking in my previous post.

IMG_20191005_073145.jpg
The sonic cleaner did do a nice job cleaning the insides and the primer pockets. That little bit of discoloration you see is not dirt or residue, it is where the brass is burnt away from the primer going off.

Although to be fair, I did have to run them through three 30 minute cycles. The first two cycles just didn't quite get it. Maybe if they were fresher or didn't have buildup, I don't know. These were twice fired without cleaning and have been sitting for almost 2 years.

All in all, the sonic cleaner achieved what I wanted it to do and this is the cleanest my handloads have ever looked. I have to admit though, now that I've done these I'm already a little envious of those folks like @galenkp I see with the shiny polished looking ones. A "dry" media tumbler just may be in my future as well.

Kiitos Suomelle! (Thank you Finland!)
Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

As long as they're clean that's what you want. Will have less impact upon your sizing die if they're clean. I can see a Rebel 17 and stainless media in your future though. :)

That does look pretty "Extreme". And you're probably right. After all, Xmas is coming soon! For me, I typically do the full length sizing and primer removal in one step, so probably not going to help me there. I played around with just neck sizing a couple times, but didn't really see much difference. I use an adjustable full length carbide dies, and seem to get just as good results. I know some folks swear by neck sizing though.

I FL size too but take the primers out by hand or to cleaning. I got a hand too from the States for that. Takes longer, but means I can fully clean before they go into the die.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58705.75
ETH 2588.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45