You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Discussion About Guns

in #guns7 years ago

You touched on a whole of interesting subjects in this post, I will try and address a few of them.

I 100% agree with your point of how much of babies society has become. Safe spaces, no winners, micro aggressions, etc, just pathetic. But when we start dropping labels like the far left or far right, liberals versus conservatives, I think this is where we run into the team mentality of either you're on our team or you're against us. A lot of my personal views would align with liberals, such as gay marriage, drugs and abortion. Conversely I also have many views that align with conservative opinions such as a free market capitalism and lower taxes. On top of that I also have some views that would be considered radical (I won't get into them though). My point is these labels create a lot of problems in and of themselves. If we can just identify as people with opinions that would be a much better starting point for discussion.

With regards to the second amendment. When it was signed into the constitution it was necessary and served a purpose. In the modern 21st century I don't think it is still relevant, people like to hold onto this fact that citizens have a right to bear arms and protect themselves from an oppressive government but I don't think this applies like it did 200+ years ago.

Whether it's Trump, Obama or Bush, I think the 2 party system is also very outdated and cause for concern. When a person has to stick within this rigid 2 party system I don't think it allows people to express their true opinions. If I were an american voting in the last election, I don't think I would have voted for either party because I don't think either of the candidates is deserving of being the president.

People not accepting our individual differences causes a lot of problems, which escalate and get out of control awful fast. In the era of social media when someone rubs us the wrong way it is easy for us to ind counsel online and group thought is a very dangerous thing.

There are always going to be sick and deranged individuals in every society, but if we can limit their access to high powered weapons, then there is a chance that we can spare innocent lives

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48