Short denim shorts and a bikini top too much to hope for?

in #guns5 years ago

This weekend I'll be doing some firearms training, long range rifle to be exact, and my student happens to be a pretty hot blonde; You can see her here in this image taken the last time I took her for some shooting lessons. Note that awesome trigger discipline.

On that occasion we were working on improving some basic shooting skills like trigger-pull and breathing technique's and I'd introduced some more technical concepts essential to getting a shooter stretching their range and accuracy. We'd discussed parallax, windage and elevation, calling the wind, the importance of environmental factors to a long range shot and touched on the complex calculations required to bring everything together into an accurate long range shot. On the day she was sending rounds out to 788m (861 yards) with consistency on a 45cm diameter target (That's about 18 inches or approximately the width of a person's chest).

Of course there's a great many elements that have to come together to make a shot like that and to be able to do it first time, every time, takes a lot of practice: Both live and dry fire with the firearm, the ability to call the wind expertly, correct breathing and trigger-pull, precisely loaded ammunition (which I make myself for consistency) and obviously the correct equipment. I can typically get a person shooting out to around 800m on their first day simply by telling them what to do, but for those who want to actually learn the skills for themselves it takes a lot longer. That's what we are working on together this weekend; The hot blonde and I...It's going to be hot this weekend too so...Hoping she wears some short denim shorts and a bikini top...

The rifle being used here is a Tikka T3 in a .308 calibre. It sits bedded in a GRS stock and the glass is a Nightforce ATACR 5-25x56 with an MOA reticle. The rifle is muzzle-braked with a custom-made brake and sits on an Atlas Bipod. It's a decent set up although the recoil is fairly heavy for one starting out. Fortunately my student has shot it quite a lot at closer ranges, 100m-300m and so understands how to manage the recoil. The ammunition is hand-loaded Sierra 168gr HPBT with muzzle velocity of 2850fps (feet per second).

The image below shows the sight picture looking through the scope. It was taken on a different day to the last training day however sits in the same shooting position and looks at the same target. You can see the target sitting in the middle of the scope on a frame. It is white with a pink dot painted in the middle. That's what the shooter sees at 788m. If you look closely you'll note the picture around the target is a little blurry. That's the mirage. As one's skills get better and better the mirage can be used to gauge wind direction and speed. This is one method I use to make accurate wind calls with a +/- 1 mile/h accuracy. Shooting with mirage like that can be very difficult as it moves the target (optically, not physically) and the speed of the wind depends on how much. It makes precision shots quite difficult.

Anyway, that's more advanced stuff and we won't be going into that on the weekend. The goal for the weekend is repeatable accuracy at 1000m (1093 yards) on a 1.5MOA sized target. That's 15 inches in diameter at 1000m. (38 cm in diameter). An impact will be called if the round lands anywhere on that target and I'll be looking for a 75% strike-rate as bench mark and suspect she'll shoot better than that.

A lot of what we do on the weekend will revolve around calling the wind and a nice shooting technique; That's always on the program. I have 150 rounds made up for the day and expect most of them to be sent down range. I'll take a couple of other rifles as well so once my student is sending the .308 rounds accurately I'll swap her over to my 6mm culling rifle which has a much flatter trajectory. That will make the impacts a little easier to get provided the technique is maintained. There's way less recoil too.

We'll be lunching picnic-style at the shooting location, a private property not a rifle range, which will be nice. I love being out in the countryside and to have this hottie-student with me makes it even better. I'm planning some awesome bread rolls filled with all sorts of yummy stuff and some soda's and vanilla yoghurt for after; Healthy, but yum! So, I'm really hoping my student plans ahead for the warm weather and breaks out some short shorts and a bikini top...OK, the bikini top might be too much to hope for but maybe a small tank top?...It may make it difficult for me to concentrate but I'll battle on...Somehow. 😂

All photo's here belong to me...As does the hottie, my lovely wife Faith.

Sort:  

It sounds like she has a good teacher, I'm sure she'll do well.

My mrs couldn't hit a bull in the arse with a shovel.

Haha, I reckon if she could hit that bull she'd want to be a fast runner!

Posted using Partiko Android

Quality's nice, but quantity works too.

😁 Hmm, yeah. Agreed. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Double dose of hot for you this weekend ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hoping...😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess i will be adfraid to near her

Sounds like a fun plan! Need to get my wife on board with doing the same but time is always a constraint and she is not prepared to tell my daughter about the firearms. Enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Women are actually quite good at long range shooting; They show more patience than blokes. My wife shoots all of my guns. It's a requirement I have that if a person lives beneath my roof they know how to operate, and make safe, every type of firearm I have. (I have quite a few). The funny thing is that she hates me shooting animals but loves that I can shoot well with handgun, rifle and shotgun. She also loves the fact she knows how to operate them and is a reasonable shooter herself.

If you ever run into her don't tell her I made the comment about the shorts and bikini top...She might get mad at me! 😋🤣😎

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 14.40% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.428 which ranks you at #2197 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2205).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33