First Shots With The New Ruger RPR .22 / What's All The Hype About?

in #guns6 years ago

These guy's are in really high demand in my area and for very good reasons I have found out. I just have picked this one up, threw a cheap closet scope on it and seen what all the hype was about. I actually didn't plan on finding one to be honest. None of the gun stores have any in stock and they all advise that it could be a month or so before they could get any in. I just happened to find this one on Armslist and I jumped on it.

This is by far the heaviest .22 rifle that I own, weighing in at 6.8 pounds totally naked. The heavy 18" target barrel and 15" free floating handguard has a lot to do with that I imagine. Ruger really knocked this one out of the park, guys. After the first group, I was in love!

THIS IS 5 SHOTS GUYS

I didn't use my range finder and I wasn't actually that far away, maybe 25 yards. But still at 25 yards, that is pretty damn impressive to put 5 shots in 3 holes with a POS scope. I will be replacing the glass as soon as possible. This thing came off of a gun that someone traded me a while back and I took it off and literally put it in the closet along with the rest of my other spare gun parts and unused holsters and such. It actually hurt me to put this optic on this nice piece of precision equipment but oh well, it's only temporary baby.

Here's another nice group I shot later in the day at a longer distance. Keep in mind that my buddy and I were getting, let's just say "tired" and were about ready to call it quits for the day. This was 10 shots at 50 yards.

You can adjust just about everything you can possibly want to on this rifle. You can adjust the bolt throw for crying out loud in case you wanted to have the feel of a large caliber throw or in case you were worried about short stroking in a competition maybe.

You can adjust the trigger easily. I will make a separate post on that.

The stock can be adjusted to fit the people with the tightest of anal rings out there!

Cheek riser moves up and down considerably.

Everything also moves forwards and backwards considerably.

Even the butt pad can be adjusted up and down.

Standard 10/22 mags will work in her too!

I'm just getting started with this thing so stay tuned! I'll be replacing the glass and putting a suppressor on it soon, so feel free to follow along with me on this Steemit journey! @bluelightbandit

Sort:  

Wow 6.8 lbs, that seems rather hefty and rugged. I LOLed for real @bluelightbandit Hahaha! I'm not sure this particular tight anal ring could shoot that particular .22 for any length of time without her arms screaming at her.
I do think that the customization adjustments that this pieces offers will make it a legendary firearm.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Sweet Ruger! Looking forward to seeing your mods

Thanks man, I appreciate it!

Amazing ruger.

My friend you are a lover of weapons and I am also
greetings to u

Yes, they are a passion of mine!

Thank you for the thorough review. It looks and must handle like a dream, based on how you described. I am anticipating your future post when you dress it up with better optics and such.

Thanks for checking it out! I just tweaked the trigger poundage down to a little less than two pounds. It was set at 2.5 from the factory, so I can't wait to get her back out at the range!

is it the same action as the 10-22? any misfires? I just got my first 10-22 and it was great, the only misfire was a stupid Winchester dud.

No, it's a different action and no problems as of yet. I have a few 10/22's myself and they are some of the best .22 rifles made in my opinion. I have one that my dad gave me that he had bought a very long time ago. That rifle has had several tens of thousands of rounds put through her and she is still going strong today! Winchester is not my favorite brand of .22 ammo. Try running some CCI mini mags, that's about all I ever run anymore. I will buy Federal bulk packs but CCI is usually my go to ammo. Even their normal velocity stuff is pretty good imo.

CCI is my first choice but for a long time I was buying whatever I could get my hands on, Winchester is garbage ammo. I love velocitors.

Your post was featured in today's curation post- Monday Prepper Curation

Congratulations!

amazing post my steem friend.@bluelightbandit

high-tech-weapons-2-701x394.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66758.87
ETH 3484.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17