Great String Skipping Exercise for Guitar Players

in #guitar7 years ago

Good evening fellow Steemians! Here's a piece of music that acts as a fantastic string skipping exercise. It's actually a portion of the guitar solo from Dream Theater's Erotomania, but it works so well as an exercise I had to post it! I've used it myself to improve my speed and technique, and it does help a lot! It sounds a little mechanical, but it's still very musical in nature and John Petrucci impresses as always. Be sure to play it at a slow speed with a metronome to get it down perfectly, then speed up gradually as your get the piece down. It is played with strictly alternate picking but you can vary it using legato technique, or what ever you prefer!
image

This exercise is more geared towards the rock/metal/progressive player but can act as a challenging exercise for any player. Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

In case there are any jazz players here, I'll post a link to a simple tutorial for creating bebop lines: https://steemit.com/music/@protoken/simple-formula-to-automatically-generate-bebop-lines

Thank you for posting this!

I'm trying to get into jazz and bebop, so I wrote the article as a reference for myself. I hope you find it useful too. Please feel free to share it with other guitar players out there.

Buen ejercicio para los amantes de la música @michaeljohnson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65