Brazilian Classical Guitar & Me - words and pictures

in #guitar6 years ago

I was reading about how Django Reinhardt developed his guitar technique, and it made me think about my own development playing classical guitar in my country. As you probably can tell from the photos below (well, I kinda gave a hint already...), I play classical guitar, (also called "acoustic guitar"). As you probably can't tell, I'm from Brazil :) . So, in portuguese, the classical guitar is simply called "violão".

Nuvens Moment outtake (2).jpg

Here in Brazil, the classical guitar is the most popular musical instrument, probably because it's so versatile. Also, Brazil has its own brand of guitar style (actually, it has a couple of very distinctive and unique styles). A typical brazilian guitar player tends to go for a mixture of popular and erudite techniques. Such method has given born to a multitude of musical genres, like "Choro" (in english, it translates as "cry"), a very joyful rhythm besides its namesake.

IMG_2574.JPG

Alongside Choro, there is the more worldly famous Bossa Nova genre, blending Samba and Jazz music, popularized by the genius of João Gilberto, a great innovator on the acoustic guitar. And I should add that both Choro and Bossa Nova came from Samba music, which all the world must've heard on the famous Brazilian Carnivals! Well, my point is, all of them have the guitar as the main instrument.

Nuvens_Moment (13).jpg
oops, wrong photo hehe

My style is actually a blending of traditional american folk pickings, erudite articulations and popular brazilian music harmonies. I'm a kind of a sound hunter, I guess. The photos I'm posting here are from a videoclip I did, which I intend to upload some time soon on DLive. But first, I thought of sharing these thoughts with you on a subject I'm really passioned about - the classical guitar.

Nuvens_Moment (15).jpg
what the heck was that above?

The great Andres Segovia, one of the foremost violonists of the XX century, teached that there is a quality of spiritual technique to a guitar player that doesn't come from virtuosity; it comes from sheer practice. Hope you like this post, dear Steemians! Let me know below ;)

Sort:  

You got a 27.17% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @verodato!



Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 100% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

I love the guitar, I have travelled the globe with my acoustic and each country I visited imbued some of the culture and love of that particular place.

You got a 5.95% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @verodato!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 14.28% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @verodato!

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 17.38% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @verodato!

You got a 6.43% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @verodato!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 11.69% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

You got a 14.91% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @verodato!

This post has received a 18.80% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @verodato. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54