Sort:  

Absolutely! Yamaha is an excellent brand, as well as Fender and Epiphone. The best thing to do when looking for a guitar is to sit down and play with it for a bit at the store and get a good sense of how it feels and sounds - if you like it thats all that matters!

These are electrical guitars I suppose? I think I'll be more interested in acoustic. I like that sound better and can play it anywhere, even around the campfire :)

No these are all acoustic guitars that I'm referring to, although all of those brands make both electric and acoustic

Jane, my guitar is an epiphone. She has a more modern sound.

Here's me and Jane playing a song for Open Mic so you can get an idea of her sound.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ken-and-jane/open-mic-week-17-an-unnamed-original-song

I find Yamaha acoustic guitars to have a more folk music sound, deeper tones. I don't own one or I played something for you to hear the difference.

Steel string acoustic and electric guitars can hurt your fingers after playing for a while. Nylon stringed acoustics don't seem to cut into the finger tips so you may want to look into them. Again, Yamaha is a good brand.

Good luck and play something for Open Mic, you'll get a lot of support.

Great advice. There is a bond between player and instrument. Plus some are just plain crap.

Also try to get an acoustic with a cutaway if you can, just in case you ever want to try playing anything with those higher notes. Honestly the shape of the guitar and size are completely just up to your preference. Also, it may be difficult at first since you don't know what exactly makes a guitar 'good', but just go with your instincts! if you feel like you will love it then just go for it and buy it!

Thanks for the advise. You really make me enthousiastic! Maybe better to start with some inexpensive second hand guitar, if I can find it. I guess the prefered sound will develop when playing. So far have no experience at all in playing, so it'll be truly newbee on the block :)

and buying second hand gear is a great way to find amazing stuff for a cheap price, just be careful not to get swindled, I recommend having someone there with you that knows stuff about guitars so that he can tell how good it actually is and if its worth the money.

Thanks very much for advises and motivation! Resteemed the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48