Guilty pleasures | Writing contest by @blewitt

in #guiltypleasures5 years ago (edited)

I don't get tagged on steemit much, and when I do I often miss it...Which probably explains why I don't get tagged very much. Anyway, since having Partiko I tend to keep up with most of what's going on a lot better and so when @honeydue tagged me a couple days ago I found out about it pretty much straight away and had the chance to respond quickly.

I'm not one for contests, challenges and things on steemit however felt that this, guilty pleasures one could be fun. To be honest I don't see the things I do in life, the enjoyable ones, as deserving of any guilt although after thinking about it a little I decided that there were a couple of things I could rightly declare guilty pleasures (GP's) so decided to go head and list some for you here.

Considering it's the blockchain and therefore forever I've withheld any that may incriminate me or may embarrass me too greatly. Hey, it's my post so I have free rein on the content right? So, thanks to @honeydue and @blewitt here goes:

Guilty pleasure one - Daily purchased breakfast's

Every weekday morning I head over to my friends cafe for breakfast. I use it to kick start my day, the time spent assessing the day ahead over coffee and food, I mean. It costs money of course, which is what I guess I could feel guilty about considering I could make my own breakfast at home for a fraction of the cost. I pay somewhere around $10 for breakfast each day so over a 48 week work year that's $2400 for breakfast which is a lot I guess. The guilt part comes into it when I consider that I could be saving a lot of that money and spending it more wisely. Still, I get great pleasure out of it and so I ignore the guilty part and focus on the pleasure of it which seems to justify it all in my mind. It just works.

Guilty pleasure two - Laundry fairies

My house has fairies I think. You see, every time I leave used clothing laying about in my dressing room or in the laundry hamper they disappear. I mean literally vanish. I'm not sure where they go but in a day or so they reappear, quite miraculously, washed, ironed, folded and put away in my wardrobe or hanging on hooks. Now this is a completely convenient happening of course and I certainly don't want it to stop...I suppose the guilty part stems from the fact that I could probably be a little more proactive with the laundry duties and do some of it myself however with the fairies being so efficient why would I? As for the pleasure part? Well, it's extremely pleasurable to have one's laundry washed, ironed, folded and hung by the laundry fairies. Source (Just for the record, I have sneaking suspicion that the laundry fairies are indeed not fairies at all. I think quite possibly my wife has something to do with the disappearing/reappearing clothing however I'm reluctant to ask in case it stops. (Come on, no judgment people!) 😇

Guilty pleasure three - Sleeping

Sleeping is one of the best things ever. I mean, there's some that subscribe to the phrase "sleep when you're dead" however sleeping is one of the most enjoyable things I do. There are days in which I will get out of bed in the morning, somehow make it to the lounge room, plonk down in front of Netflix and proceed to fall asleep all day whilst watching TV. OK, these days are not as common as I would like, but sometimes I do this, my wife and I, and we always find so much value in it. I know there's other things I could be doing and some may see it as a waste of life however I don't. Do I feel guilty about it later? For sure, but the pleasure of it seems to easily override that guilt and so, inevitably, I do it again at some later time. 😴 Source

Guilty pleasure four - Cheeseburgers

This is one I really do feel guilty about...Not when I'm eating it of course, but later. Well, not that guilty; Just a little. Umm, maybe less than a little. OK, so I don't really feel guilty at all but I should so that's why it's on my list. I can't go past a cheeseburger. I mean what's not to love right? Seriously, that mix of burger, cheese, mustard and ketchup with those pickles and a light sprinkling of onions all presented on a toasted sesame seed bun...Oh cheeseburger, get in my mouth now! Cheeseburger cheeseburger cheeseburger cheeseburger. Even saying it is pleasurable right? Ok, so honestly I do feel a little guilty eating cheeseburgers as I know they're not that good for me...No I don't! Gotcha! 😂Source

Guilty pleasure five - My cats

Here's Merlin and Cleo my little fur babies. We're a childless couple and so these two little things take the place of children. They are way cheaper to keep and there's no school fees so it works! So why are they on my guilty-pleasures list? Well, I can only say if you promise not to repeat it. Can I trust you? Great. Ok, so sometimes I take off from work in the middle of my day to go and visit them at home. They're always glad to see me and to be honest that time I spend with them always resets me and brings me back on track or makes me feel more happy if I'm in a grumpy mood. So, I feel a little guilty that I've taken that time off work but then again I come away more productive so the Directors should be thanking me I suppose! 😈

So, there you have it; Five guilty pleasures I'm totally, one hundred percent, definitely, positively, maybe, possibly, probably (not) feeling guilty about. As stated above I've omitted any that could seriously damage my credibility so, @honeydue, there's no confessions of my love for bopping as you mention in your own GP's post. I'm not sure if I'm supposed to nominate anyone else so instead I'll just urge anyone that happened to read all the way down here to get on board the #guiltypleasures tag started by @blewitt and have some fun with it.

Sort:  

I totally get the sleeping thing!! :))) I'd really like to be a 'sleep when I'm dead' sort of person, but there's so much fun in sleeping usually, it seems a waste not to ;)
for a second I actually thought you kept your shirts propped up like that ;)))
And I know you bop. At least in your heart.

Haha, my shirts hang, I'm not that organised.

Oh, and with regard to bopping...My version sort involves the tapping of a foot only. I sing like an idiot in my truck though? 😆

Fantastic!!! Thanks so much for participating. Try combining your cheeseburger indulgence with the Netflix.

DCFE57CA-F001-4756-8821-82E32DFC4328.gif

Haha, I actually never thought of that...You might have just created a monster!

lol...honestly combining cheeseburgers with any activity is bliss.

I'll admit, I have been known to combine a cheeseburger, with...Wait for it...Another cheeseburger! BOOM!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ho. Lee. Shit.

😂

In fairness, you really can’t go wrong with burgers. Chuck some think cut bacon on it. Mmmmmm

Yep @minismallholding ...That's exactly what I'm talking about.

@ginnyannette you may like the video thanks to mini!

Come on, no judgment people!

If you put it on public display, you are bound to get judgement. :D

This is my way of handling other peoples dirty laundry.
http://www.pmslweb.com/the-blog/funny-christmas-memes-and-pictures-our-christmas-best-of/10-funny-laundry-christmas-tree/

I may accidentally wash clothes that aren't mine, but as no-one ever in the course of this households history, has never washed my clothes, I don't make it a habit to wash other than my own clothes. And of course all the bed linen and towels and curtains and stuff that are used by other people too.

You are incredibly fortunate to have your Faith. :)

If you put it on public display, you are bound to get judgement. :D

People's perceptions mean little to nothing to me in truth...

I think if I let the laundry pile up like that laundry xmas tree I'd be in a world of pain! :)

I would never let my own laundry pile up like that. But this would be an excellent passive aggressive way to show that the dirty clothes pile of the other people living here, has grown too big.

Ha! Poor lady, unknowingly becoming a laundry fairy.

Bought breakfast every morning - that sounds wonderful. I hate making breakfast so very much.

Speaking as a laundry fairy myself, don't feel guilty about that. A laundry fairy enjoys her work. It calms her. Help a fairy out, leave a pair on underwear on the floor - those always fold nicely all warm and fresh out of the dryer.

A laundry fairy enjoys her work.

Laundry fairies also get the benefit of knowing the recipient of their work always looks neatly ironed and presented :)

If the laundry fairy happens to be the recipient's spouse, and happens to plan on being seen with the recipient at a public function, then I would say that is a big factor :)

Thank heavens for laundry fairies! The unsung hero's of many households and the quiet acheivers. Hurrah! ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Don't worry yourself brah, it's all good.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.404 which ranks you at #2208 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2206).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #105.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85