My guilty pleasures - contest by @blewitt

in #guiltypleasures5 years ago (edited)

I believe that everyone has an inner weirdo, a sort of a freaky side of us that makes us do things when we are alone that we may or may not be ashamed of, but that we enjoy doing regardless. We know they are wrong, but we do them anyway because they feel so good. These are our guilty pleasures.

I'm guilty of having some of my own, and even though the list is probably longer, I will share the most important ones with you here. Ssshhh, please don't tell anyone that I do these things, as I'm not exactly proud of them LOL

1) Netflixing for hours at a time

Now I don't do this every day, but I have my moments where I don't want to see or talk to anyone and rather stay at home with my dog and cats and watch movies, or binge watch TV shows. The inner freak in me loves horror movies (although in the end their poor quality always ends up pissing me off) and also super hero shows (think Marvel and others). I feel guilty for literally wasting hours of my life sitting on the couch, but then again it feels so good to plunge into a fantasy world for some time and forget about work, chores, and other commitments. I admit that sometimes I even reject invitations in order to have that time for my guilty pleasure.

2) Eating chocolate...usually the whole bar all at once.

This one goes hand in hand with the above, since I can't watch a movie without snacking or drinking wine. Since I'm pregnant I can't drink of course, so I double up on the chocolate. Six-pack dream, there you go... My favorites are dark chocolate with orange or with mint. Can't stop, won't stop....

3) Pulling out white hairs

Every morning I check my scalp for growth of new white hairs, and then I pull them out with tweezers. Freaky huh? As if I could possibly win this fight.I know I can't win the war, but for now I can still get away with it and it feels great to get rid of every grey hair that I come across. Luckily they are still a minority. I also curse at the same hair I pull out, and usually it's a profane word insulting the hair's mother....wait am I insulting my own mother now?

4) Stealing soaps in hotel rooms and fancy restaurants

aromatherapy-aromatic-bath-206299.jpg
source

I hope I don't get arrested for this, but I love bar soaps. I love them even more when they are free. Every hotel I visit, or every fancy restaurant that I come across that has nice bar soaps is my theft victim. I check the smell first, and if I like it it gets slipped into my purse. When I'm back home and wash my hands with them I'm always so proud of myself (yes I'm a freak, I know!)

5) Watching Brazilian Jiujitsu videos on Instagram & YouTube

It's amazing how time flies when I watch BJJ techniques on YouTube. I usually just want to check my messages on whatsapp in the morning, and before you know it I'm sucked in to the numerous BJJ accounts I'm following. I try and memorize them, and therefore watch them a million times over and look for other stuff hat could work for me on YouTube. Before I know it an hour has passed and I'm still on my stupid phone trying to finish my breakfast at the same time. Of course I always plan on using these in my next sparring session, but unfortunately most of the time I already forget them by then! Repeat the next morning....sigh!

Ok, I think that's enough of my darkest secrets, and I can't wait to read what weird stuff the rest of my online friends are into when they are on their own.

Cheers!

eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

Hahaha 2) and 4) - totally us! You are not alone hahaha! 🙈🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

ahahahaha I'm so happy I'm not alone with #4 LOL

I have an obsession with all the small toiletries hotels have, I take them all! 😂

It feels so good to read other peoples guilty pleasures, as they are quite similar to mine, and I feel less of a crazy person having all you other freaks around💙 And yes, I'm yet to write mine!

ahahahahha yeah I steal those too if I can use them LOL Long live us freaks!!!

hahaha I don't know why it cracks me up so much that you insult you hair's mother 😆

Lol I know right? I do it every time

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am very sorry, but what is the netflix? a new form of cancer?

I would say that’s a pretty accurate description 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha ha. I am also a Netflix binger... Today I watched 4 hours of Netflix. A show called 'master of none' a bit cheesy romantic, but I guess I'm just a big softy at heart lol

Then I woke up at 1am in the morning and wrote steem post on my phone... that can't be a healthy lifestyle 😂😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad I'm not alone with my Netflix problem LOL. btw how's the new place? You moved to a new flat, right?

Ha ha, Netflix addiction is a real thing 😉

The new flat has been a mixed bag. I'm in a great location near the city center but had to deal with a pscyho niegbor the second weekend after I got back from steemfest. Ended up the police were called because he was threatening my downstairs niegbor who is a woman living on her own. It was all pretty stressful but I'm glad I got involved chasing him off then getting him arrested as he tried to smash her door down with a hammer.

Fckn inner city life. Lol, you gotta laugh or you'd end up crying. He hasn't tried anything since he was arrested and the housing co-op are in the process of getting him evicted. Apparently, he'd been sectioned only a year ago. Welcome to my Mad life. It's stuff like this that reaffirm my desire to move somewhere new at some point soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for participating my dear!!! Appreciate it.

Have you checked out Ozark on Netflix yet? It’s 2 seasons in and is stellar.

It's freaking AWESOME.

Yesssss already saw both seasons and absolutely love that show! Can’t wait to see the next one (hope there is!)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's already greenlit so it's happening. I am a huge Jason Bateman fan....always have been so I loved seeing him take on a different type of role for this.

#4 all the way. Hotels usually just toss the soap anyway. We're preventing needless waste.

#5 is just where curiosity and endless knowledge meet :)

true words =)

HAHAHA - OMG, Netflix and Chocolate, yes, me too, and then white hair: I do this for my friend, so all is still normal, but those bars of soap?! I laughed so hard. Especially "I'm always so proud of myself" - I think you should be. Good girl! I have a new bucketlist item.

ahahahahah I know the soap thing is totally weird LOL...did you write your post yet? Will go check right now LOL

Yeah...get on it @soyrosa. Quit being a slacker. If Eve with clothes can find the time in between ripping off Hilton’s and being lazy on the couch with chocolate fingers...you can too. I fully expect your entry soon...

😜

OMG I’m totally peer pressured here

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know. Damnit. Procrastination is my guilty. (Sometimes pleasure.)

Lol. That is something we are all guilty of so don't feel too bad...

I'm writing though, it will be up next 30 minutes :P

(There Rosa, it's on the blockchain, you HAVE TO DO IT NOW!)

(Stop talking to yourself. Start writing.)

Lol “ripping off Hilton’s “ Ahahah I haven’t tried that one yet. I’ll put it on my “theft list” lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

well you don't want dirty side of the road motel soap...gotta go fancy if you are going to do it.

In fairness, I totally just used a bar a few days ago that I yanked from a hotel in Amsterdam. I leave em as last resorts when I am running low and I had to dip into the stash. Lol....

Congratulations @evecab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2500 comments. Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you I will try to get there 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79