Guilty Pleasures - who, moi?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #guiltypleasures5 years ago (edited)

guilty pleasures.jpeg

Scrolling through my feed looking for interesting content I happened upon a post from @blewitt he made in an effort to learn more (sometimes TMI?) about friends and to encourage some new friends to join in. I read several of the resulting posts and I have to say you all sound like a group after my own heart. So I'm going to join in, and maybe you might see fit to open up your circle of 13 (not a good number) and let me in.

Guilty pleasure #1

This is a relatively new one for me, and I hope to get over it soon, it's not very pretty! I recently retired after 30 years with the Postal Service, the last 20 as Postmaster of my hometown. I felt like we had a really good group and I miss the people (but not the work for sure). Unfortunately, my replacement has pretty much fallen on her face. I could sympathize with the new person trying to get her feet under her, but this chick has no desire to learn, tells everyone what a mistake she made coming there (she moved 300 mi from her home in Chicago), and goes into the office and shuts the door. It's every man for himself on the workroom floor. So my guilty pleasure is the employees coming to me and telling me about the horrible conditions now and how they didn't realize all the things I was doing for them and how good they had it. I surely don't want the poor girl to fail, it's just nice to finally get appreciated even if it is after the fact.

Guilty pleasure #2

I guess pretty much everyone has some sort of binge eating to be guilty about. Mine is the wee hours after midnight, can't sleep, kindle in one hand and bowl of popcorn in the other. It's really not something to feel guilty about, except that during the day, in front of people, I'm trying to be so "good" and not snack. But with no one around, that popcorn calls my name!

Guilty pleasure #3

Chicago Bulls. The guilty comes from the way they've played the last few years, I don't want anyone to know they're my team, lol. And the pleasure part is getting hard to find. Most games I end up with Tourette's Syndrome and then saying "That was my last Bull's game!" But hope springs eternal and I just can't help watching...

Sort:  

I am a huge NBA fan and know the pain well. My team is the Nets. Yuk....

Also congrats on retirement!!! That's awesome to hear!

Thank you so much for participating in the challenge. It is lovely meeting new people and this is a fantastic way to do so. Also...Bulls do stink! lol

Well the Nets 10-18 is still a lot more respectable than the outrageous 6-22 of the Bulls. Worst season yet. Hoiberg has,been fired but didn't seem to make much difference yet. Thanks for running the contest and giving me the chance to meet you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely a pleasure to meet you as well. Keep in touch. Nice to have another NBA fan here. Hoping the Nets can close out this game right now. It’s 110-100 currently with 5 mins left against the Sixers. 🤞

Well you made it right? 127-124! I have a night of peace since the Bulls are off tonight.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah it got super scary at the end. I was not comfy until that buzzer went off. We have now won 3 in a row but lost 8 straight prior to that...several of them in last minute collapses. They have not earned my confidence yet....

Yeah, a night off is like a W when your team stinks...lol

Well it's Bulls vs Nets tonight in Chicago. Will you be tuning in? I don't have much hope, looks like the Nets have a little winning streak lately. We're down to 7-24, 15th place in the division. Can't get much worse, sigh. The only thing we have going for us tonight is free throw percentage and steal percentage. Hopefully the Nets foul us a lot while we are stealing the ball. lol.

Lol. Of course I’ll be watching!!! I watched us play well against a Laker team yesterday that wouldn’t quit. It got scary at the end again but we actually held out to net us 6 in a row. Woohoo!!

Of course that’s following an 8 game losing streak. Booooo!!

Lol

Yeah, the Bulls sadly stink right now. Not much fun being. In the doldrums. Been there. Done that. Lol. Finally feel like we are slowing positioning ourselves to be in a better spot after years of pure darkness. Good luck tonight...but not really. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah we had a good game against the Spurs the other night and actually won. But few and far between. Now our big gun (such that it is ) Zach Lavine is out for 2-4 weeks with ankle sprain. So last night we lost by almost 30, looking for the same tonight. Should be a good night for you!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

I enjoyed this post and congratulations on retirement! Poor replacement lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86