From Nothing To Something - A Tale Of Gratitude

in #gtgcontest6 years ago (edited)

gratitude-2939972_1280.jpg
source

The Journey begins

Last month makes it two good years since I finished my National Youth Service Corps and I am still an unemployed youth. Sometimes I feel depressed because my house is not far from a federal university where you see young boys in there early 20's all driving big cars and in good money. Then I begin to ask myself when will luck smile at me too.

After service I went for a farm training in Oyo state and it was really an eye opener into the world of organic vegetable farming. I learned how to plant cucumbers, watermelon, tomatoes, pepper , amaranthus and so on. I came back home and tried it and the theory of the first luck in maktub smiled on me,
IMG_20171123_200310_959.jpg
[my first harvest]

IMG_20171123_200224_657.jpg
[second harvest]
made some money and re-invest everything, the second round wasn't good at all and as the dry season sets in without irrigation in place I start to feel the reality of a full time farmer. It took me more than nine months of work before I can set up my own irrigation system and that is just the beginning among lots and lots of things a farmer should have in his farmer to be successful. I became discouraged and wanted to learn more in agribussiness.

Re-Inventing Oneself

So I buckled up again in search of more knowledge joined cooperatives and filled for many many grants, loans, schemes and Opportunitydesk.org. Opportunity desk for Africa,
IMG_20171025_195203_033.jpg
[transporting 400+ ugu(fluted pumpkin)seedling to my farm last year October ]
Agribusiness training they really helped a lot. In the midst of this ups and down in farm commodity prices gradually I began to get in debt. There are people who still owe me and won't just pay me back. Bit by bit the farm started running down. One day I saw a post by @autofreak on facebook where he was saying something about Steemit.com. I clicked and wasn't interested till he made mention of it again and it stuck. I opened my first account in December and lost the password before the month ended. I opened another one in January and got approved the last week of the month and the journey began.

From Nothing To Something

The first few months weren't impressive. Now I am smiling to myself every time I grab my keyboard because at the other end I know someone is waiting to read my thoughts and expression. All this is thanks to the numerous contests which abound on Steemit and people's upvotes that put food on my table and pay my bills.

Vote Of Thanks

My sincere gratitude goes to the following people.

My Upcoming Mission And Vision.

I want to create a first of the kind reward pool using the @steembasicincome initiative. The contest will run for a week and as it grows it will be something done everyday to help the minnows and uplift them. I've thought of it over and over again, how could I help an account that are getting discouraged every day due to low payout? I think this is surely the best idea so far from my head. If you find something wrong with it, do let me know.

All this could not be possible if not for Steemit, Which other platform or site could offer this great thing. Only Steemit, so am 100% grateful for Steemit. I have been helped beyond imagination and it's time to start helping others too.

Thanks.

Word Count :771

This is my entry for the A TALE OF GRATITUDE - LIFE EXPERIENCE CONTEST by @cherylsonty and @paradise-found

U5dtFoQqBqVSxSSP5jHzaKsccb6qyx8.gif

Sort:  

Me? Your crush? This is incredible! Never knew!

Hmmmm, quene ur crush, okay o lemme be going, entry confirmed

Lol. Be going o.

I am glad you found us!! Freewriting is fun and it is a great community.
Farming is so hard!! and we are at the mercy of irrigation here as well. I have seen many a plant die.
I DMed you

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Wow man, I feel your plight.

I'm an extra student. When I think about the bleak prospect of getting a job with my almost useless CGPA, I just feel like dropping out and focusing on business.

I opened my steemit account October last year and forgot all about it. Money and desperation forced me to begin blogging January this year

And yes, steemit is hardworking (with little pay), but we're all grateful as its better than nothing.

My upvote is worth nothing. I've resteemed your post though

Blessings

You are one of my father in the Lord when it comes to steemit brother, I feel your plight, one day, mark my word, one day we will all have a joyful story to tell.

I love your post about re-inventing oneself and one's community!
Welcome to Steemit!

Am glad you love it.
Thanks

Good work. Don't get discouraged, you keep learning every time you pull out your keyboard and you get better and better!

Am getting better and better by the day and I have hope in tomorrow.

DQmNMLmDwdMo1HjQsV2upnexzxHNakKKEu6L432j3CRUbw9.gif

Thank you for sharing. I have upvoted your post and resteem it to my followers. This is to support you on this community

FOLLOW @giving-girl FOR MORE SUPPORT WITH RANDOM UPVOTES AND YOUR POST RESTEEM

This is nice..keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83