You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growth-ideas: A Dedicated Space For Choose-Your-Own-Adventure Games Like @papa-pepper Survival Game With Stats And Timers

in #growth-ideas7 years ago

@Whatageek, I think you misspelled my name again. lol

I still want to do the Choose Your Own Adventure thing, if someone else beats me to it, great - the winners are the fans that get to experience them.

The problem I see with the current limitations of @Steemit is that the adventure would have to be posted quite quickly to stay ahead of players going through it at that moment (a post per "page" that leads to another post with more choices).

If we had some kind of scoring system available it would certainly help keep people interested, entice multiple play through sessions, and probably bring attention to the project (which would be awesome).

I am thinking to get something started it could be about 20 to 30 posts long (just like the books that spawned this idea, no cheating by going forward or back when you mess up). It wouldn't be too hard to set that up. Maybe a simple adventure exploring a cave with an encounter or two that could produce a little bit of a maze aspect.

That is using current Steemit limitations.

The stats idea you mention is a great idea. Leaderboards, badges, etc could be created to keep players taking on new challenges as they become available. That could definitely be something that piques the interest of gamers - just look at how achievements changed console gaming for Xbox and Playstation gamers - people are playing games they don't care about just to get that next achievement or points for their account so they can brag to their friends.

Sort:  

Okay @triverse it is not my fault. I made a cautious effort to get it right and noticed that, for some reason, it auto-corrects to traverse. I will fix it after this comment. You can call me @whatigeek if it helps :p

You bring up a good point with the completed stories and replays. What I am thinking is ones like @papa-pepper survival game that is 'live' and you have to make your choice within 24 hours and the story continues until you have on survivor left. But maybe there is a way you can make one completed with rewards that people can replay.

You could make a fun book now with posts. But it doesn't have as many gamification aspects.

Speaking of gamification, steemit has announced plans to add gamification to the site. You are right about the achievements, I think it gives players direction and it can be relaxing to focus on a goal.

No worries on the name. I think for a long time before mentioning it because I think I sound like a jerk saying something.

I would love to see more gamification of Steemit as it can only help more people find the site.

No man it's your name, it should be spelled right. It is literally only your name that spell-check has an issue with, I have fixed it on different posts, this one got away from me. If it happens again you know why.

Yeah it was mentioned on the roadmap. The next big one should be communities in a month or two.

I blame the name thing on that SUV that is called Traverse. Lol

Communities could be awesome. Right now categories are not working as well as they should.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35