Steem Targeting Current Social Media Platforms Idea

in #growth-ideas7 years ago (edited)

The problem that steem has is not targeting the masses. There are 1.5 billion users on Facebook, 400 million users on Instagram, and 320 million users on twitter. Facebook and Instagram usage went down by 23.7% while twitters usage went down by 23.4%. Personally i think the decline of usage has nothing to do with people not wanting to interact on social media platforms. I think people lack the incentive to interact on social media. Steem hits this issue dead on but there is not any effective accounts that are pushing this idea on the previously listed Social Media platforms.

The solution to this would be allowing me to run the @steemit Instagram page and the Facebook page also the twitter account. I have experience in marketing products to the youth of Facebook and instagram. Instagram account: @checkerboardtrendsetter Facebook page: Checkerboard Trendsetter. Both of these pages I used several simple strategies into building the pages up. I only spent 3 months marketing to build my Facebook page to 1000 likes. and it only took me 3 months to bring my instagram page up to 10,000 followers. I was a marketing a very niche product so the amount of followers and likes for the clothing I was selling was substantial. If i had the opportunity to spread the message of steem i could bring a lot of more traffic to these accounts because i would be able push a message that is easily relatable and the more traffic that comes to the account invariably will come to steemit.com

Every week i can make a post that tracks the growth of the steem community accounts on the other social media platforms. Also i can tell users to include in their steem intro that they heard of steem through the community pages on specific platform.

I would really devote myself towards this and i am very motivated toward growing this community!

Sort:  

I definitely think it would be beneficial for Steemit to have a more dedicated social media presence on the other platforms.

You should speak to Mitchell or @andrarchy about doing this - I'm not sure if there is a Steemit Instagram page - if not there should be.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/856489117953253376

Soul_Eater_43 The Cryptofiend tweeted @ 24 Apr 2017 - 12:44 UTC

Steem Targeting Current Social Media Platforms Idea — @Steemit buff.ly/2q6suJR https://t.co/A76VG8JJo3

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

While I believe a steady growth could be achieved with a well planned social media marketing, I believe more in @steemit working out a good referral program that won't cost the community money in advertising.

A referral reward system will bring about the desired growth and help the community to diversify into niche topics.

Just post about Steemit and tell your friends. I worked out the numbers, if everyone just tells 3 every day we can do it. https://steemit.com/steemit/@darkflame/only-55-new-accounts-tell-your-friends

Yeah but if there is an appealing official account on the social media platform that directs people to the steem platform then that will be more affective than just mentioning steem to a friend. You can't expect everyone to mention it to 3 friends and you can expect the people that do mention it to be so good at selling the steem idea that they get people to join. What you can expect is that I will work my ass off to sell the steem idea and actually go to the masses and convert Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter slaves. All I ask for is the current accounts that are already on these platforms to be turned over to me so I won't have to start from ground zero. Which I am perfectly fine with doing.

That's a bit extreme of a demand but what you can do is promote your idea, build you a team and influence those official accounts you requested, to make changes

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing
Excellent post! I like your work My friend
(~.~)

I just had a post about this same thing. But it was more focused on how do we attract more people to steemit. Such as what is our strongest hook? I'm wanting to pull fans to here from my Wattpad.

I'm not sure if steemit is ready for really big masses yet.

This platform needs a more equitable distribution of power before it can achieve mass adoption. I know there have been recent changes to work toward this and that's great. We'll have to see how it plays out. Until that happens though, I think this community needs to stabilize or you'll have an endless cycle of get-rich-quick types and the decent content will be buried. It's already very challenging to weed through the get rich crypto posts and promo posts to find meaningful and well written content. Of course meaningful and well written are subjective. My test case would be something more like Medium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85