Making important account decisions visible

in #growth-ideas7 years ago (edited)

Snapseed.jpg

Would it be desirable and feasible to enable accounts to display an indicator, verified by the blockchain, showing that the account does not self vote? There could be one for posts and one for comments. I think it is important to give all Steemians a more visible choice between supporting accounts that upvote themselves or not.

Self-upvoting is NOT abuse in any way. It is an intentional benefit of accumulating, holding and using Steem Power. However there are clearly many accounts that are happy to act against their own financial interests for the benefit of the Steem community and the health of the reward pool. The question is, if some of the financial benefits of Steem Power are "culturally" denied, then will SP become less appealing? For some, quite possibly, however, I think those that sell will be replaced by other accounts that value SP more highly for other reasons.

Therefore, I think it would be very helpful to provide Steemians with a clear indicator of wether or not a Steemian upvotes their post and how long since they last upvoted themselves.

Perhaps a change in voting habits would then occur which would support a shift towards less self upvoting.

The assumption I'm making in terms of benefit is the more of the reward pool available to discovering and supporting quality newer accounts, coupled with the greater the influence lower SP holders feel in giving Steem, the better for Steem as a whole. I think the evidence provided by the no whale voting experiment showed a powerful correlation to that effect.

Let's give Steemians a visible choice. There may be other visual cues (like the 100% post power up indicator) that could also help.

I don't think this would effect a low SP account for self upvoting, especially on their posts, but at a certain level, Steemian voting support may favour larger holders who forego self-voting in favour of pure community rewards.

I would love to know your thoughts.


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

I am just hoping that self-voting will not be an epidemic in steemit as it will greatly affect the community as a whole because most people will just try to avoid everyone that only self-votes and the spirit of being a community might degrade.

If the devs could look upon this issue maybe they can do something to taper it out.

Steemit's overall character will be a manifestation of the sum of all our interactions. The beautiful thing is that, like humans in general, there's a lot of scope for variety and there is strength in depth.

I think in a fair and just Steemit world, this would be a good addition. However, we don't live in a fair and just Steemit world. We currently live in a Steemit world where newbies are being favored over minnows who have worked hard for their position. These minnows had to fight their way up and now have to fight to stay visible. One way of doing that is to upvote their own post, so it looks more appealing to others (the alternative is no one opens their posts anymore).

This might sound a bit sour, but it's what I've noticed a lot lately and it's what I hear about a lot from others aswell. Adding such an option would only serve to ignore these older members even more.

Does self-voting give your blog post more visibility. I feel that some of my posts don't get any visibility at all. I turned off self voting so it wouldn't automatically vote on my posts. A lot of people might not have even noticed that that check mark was there. I think it was pre-selected for me when wrote my first post. I don't self vote but also am frustrated that I don't know IF my post was seen and not voted on or just not seen. I should like to know the number of times the post was viewed vs. how many upvotes.... to see then if it's my material that is not interesting enough or if it just got buried under all the other posts. Is there a way to see the views? Anyone?

Hi silversmyth, just to be clear, there is nothing wrong with up-voting your own posts :) So don't fret at all. The question is whether or not, as a community, we would chose those who have considerable Steem Power (and therefore their upvotes are quite to very valuable) would still attract upvotes from the rest of the community or, given more visibility, would the community favor those that do not upvote voluntarily.

At the bottom of any post you make, you should be able to see a little eye symbol which shows you how many views you've had. It is next to the vote indicator.

Visibility can be challenging initially. Probably the best way to raise your visibility is to comment sincerely and intelligently on other people's posts. Hopefully, if people like your comments, your followers will increase and the visibility of your own posts.

Thank you! I'm now going to review my posts to see what I can do better! : )

Quality posts must be supported by many sounds. This is the chain of steemit life, from minnows to whales need each other.

Almost sounds poetic :)

Could be a good idea don't know what the big boys would say . Cheers mike

Many of the whales have already shown themselves to be thinking of Steem and Steemit's long-term success over immediate financial gains. I think there is a very good chance of support. It's only better information for what is occurring already.

That's a fair comment thanks for your reply mate cheers mike

self voting does appear abusive when coming from a steem power holder account that is high valued. The way my influence on steemit based on my power I would have to up-vote all my content. Really this is extraordinarily subjective, I say yes for now I am positive that will alternate as my influence and many others grow. Appreciate the share.. @benjojo, cheers!

I hope that social factors can make self-upvoting less appealing for the short-term financial gains of those with considerable SP. Lower SP accounts who are hoping for a bit of extra visibility should go for it and upvote.

i can't see the problem with self voting by those on low levels of influence and even those with more have a right to limited self voting due to seeking return on investment perhaps -- i think this is just a distraction from the real and significant drop off in votes since HF19 -- we don't need to make a big issue out of self voting

There are many forms of return on investment and many ways to look at the value of SP. I don't believe there is anything wrong with self-upvoting....it is part of the design and someone who wanted to hide it could fund other accounts. But, if someone who had multiple accounts was outed for self-voting when they were claiming not to, I think that could be very costly in terms of social capital. If you believe that rewards are better off, in the end, going to growing new talent and giving people with less power more visible influence....then like me, you might consider only supporting those large SP holders who forego self-voting. It's no big deal, just something we should all consider.

it is a thrill to a new comer like me when someone suddenly boosts one of my posts beyond the usual low levels - i guess this happens from people who aren't so concerned about monetary returns -- good to know you Ben

Waw very extraordinary
I was very impressed to see it

Wonderful, thank you.

Great topic and being new here I would place value on seeing a visual clue on if someone self votes! A few of the folks I know from YT coming over to Steemit are having to try and wade thru this river and trying to adapt to something so different in terms of the structure and the do's and do not's that they are setting back dealing with headaches of trying to figure it out, some are just reading post after post after post trying to find someone to follow that gives correct information that does not clash with our thought processes and beliefs. Considering the many from YT finding their way here to assist in growing a awesome community of visual/video content creators I believe perhaps a well done set of videos that can be restreemit to others here would be a benefit to the entire community. Even tho we are part of this community it is no different than walking into another persons home and some set rules of behavior and acceptable actions for breaking those said rules are needed. Thank You for bringing this topic out! Resteemit to share to others!

There is most certainly a lot to learn and navigate. To make matters more of a challenge, the environment and culture is in a state of flux. One day soon I hope it will settle and all this trial by fire everyone new is going through will pay off! There is still some evolving to go through before that point though I think.

I recognize we are still in beta and accept it is going to take time and it will have growing pains and for me I believe it is worth the wait and the investment of my time here. Thank You for being here @Benjojo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17