Someone Please Help Me ...

in #grindcore8 years ago

... like Grindcore.

I'm trying, really I am. First I went through several peoples "Top Grindcore Band's" list on YouTube, but I'm still not convinced this is something I could ever enjoy.

Ever since I heard that Grindcore will make you want to take your Grandma's head and smash it through the coffee table, I've wanted to get into Grindcore. No offense Grandma, I don't want to smash your head into a coffee table, I just want to feel the feeling such a sentence conjures up ... just to see what it's like ... and then go chill.

The problem is, so far I've yet to experience that feeling. The only feeling I've experienced to date is the desire to turn the volume knob down and hope that by doing so I might actually hear a note or two that sound pleasant to my ears. No luck.

So I'm asking for help.

Does anyone here know of any "good" (whatever that means) Grindcore bands that are not so ... ummm, "Grindcore"? Maybe that's the problem. When I heard Grindcore was all about the short, violent, relentless drums & guitar I imagined something completely different in my earhole ... picture KoRntera ... or something like that.

What I discovered instead was ... well ...

Grindcore I guess ... and I don't think I like it.

Unless someone can turn me onto something in the genre that's a little less ... intense. Say, something that will give me the feeling that I want to yell at Grandma instead of smashing her head into the table. Obviously the sounds needed to channel that demon thought is different for everyone. ;)

Sort:  

There you go brother.

Grindcore just sounds like crap to me and I have a high tolerance for crap having grown up during the 80s.
Doesn't make me want to smash anything, but I do want to volunteer to cover the re-up on the singer's xanax scrip, maybe get the dude a bag of weed too.

Grindcore just sounds like crap to me

I haven't completely ruled it out. There are giblets of corn in that crap, so if you like corn, there's a little bit in there that's good ... but it's surrounded by crap. ;)

If you happen to find some let me know. I've tried since the 90s to like it, but just can't bring myself to find any light in that tunnel.

not grindcore, more... erratic. with a pleasant note or two thrown in. i'll see if i can come up with something else. grindcore hasn't really ever intrigued me. it's kind of a mostly featureless wall of sound made of broken glass. i never got the head through the coffee table feeling. i do enjoy difficult listening, but not if i'm bored.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xp8U6Mt_OG8

Dillinger is one of my favorites!

creativity is rare

You know it's going to be worthwhile when people can't agree what genre it is. :)

"Your mom isn't metalcore". - YouTube comment.

Thanks!

there's also a band called Fantomas, that is similar, also with Mike Patton.

Oh hell yeah, there ya go! Really diggin some of these tracks on "The Director's Cut".

i'd recommend almost anything having to do with Mike Patton. i enjoy some of it more than others, but this is one of my favorites. Mr Bungle's self titled album Mr Bungle.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZ_3F93hgZw

If Faith No More, RHCP and Bozo the Clown had a kid ... this would be it's album. ;)

I guess Lightning Bolt has some elements you described. Things tend to get crazy on their concerts.

I think I could mosh with Grandma to this. She'll need to watch this first.

Tuck, have you heard of Daughters?

They're about as good a bridge into grindcore as you're going to find. Founded in 2003, the band put out one or two typical grind records: 30 second songs, frantic high-pitched shredding, pain and misery via blastbeats.

Then the singer decided to start drawling weird spoken word lyrics over the songs rather than screaming, and they stretched out into 2-4 minute song structures, slowed down the drums, but kept in all the absurd guitar hysterics, the result is one of the cooler albums of the 2000's...

https://hydrahead.bandcamp.com/album/hell-songs

The end result is like if Tom Waits got stuck with a heavy metal band backing him, and tried to make Swordfishtrombones anyway. I have absolutely no idea if anybody will understand that sentence. But ya you might enjoy this one a lot.

lol OK I'll check them out thanks!

First : thanks so much for the awesome 50.00 SBD gift that was deposited into my retirement fund wallet ! What an awesome surprise to see when I woke today ! It's much appreciated and helping to make my dreams come true sooner rather then later ! 👍😉 You will be mentioned in my top 5 MONDAY picks along with merj99 ! THANKS ! 👍♨😉👮 As soon the price in steem drops or is at a good time to buy , I will then change it in steem and power yours and merj99 into my retirement fund wallet ! WOOT !
Also I loved your post and I'm glad you would rather yell at your sweet Grandma instead of smashing her head ! LOL ! 😂😂😂 Never stop Steeming on ! 😉♨👍👮

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62