You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyone Grieving And Realize All The Advice Is Shit?

in #grief7 years ago

Amazing post dude. I am dealing with my older father, he's old (63) suffered a stroke when I was like 1 years old, and in general wasn't the most perfect guy in his life from what I know. For instance, he was born in Philly Pennsylvania in 1954..100% sicilian..he knows quite a few people.

And Facebook really is a popularity contest, although that applies to almost any social media platform these days imo.

I never grew up around much of my family, as my Dad moved on from his past, divorced my mom, and became a union electrician and was always on the road making money.

My Mom was diagnosed with Manic depression (maybe because of my Dad, I wouldn't blaim her.)

There were tons of times in my life where things never went right, starting from like two years old. Sometimes I became extremely frustrated and angry at my life.

Im still out here trying to help my Dad instead of telling him he needs to go to a home. I have enough reasons to really legitimately hate him, but he is my Father and I gotta be the better one in this relationship.

I never really had real love from him, like when I was in 4th grade he was telling me to tell my mother God will shit on her grave, yet he's "very religious." What kind of a religious person says that shit?

Anyway, Im here for him no matter what, even though I really shouldn't be.
His Father used to beat him and stuff from what I know, plus the stroke, so I tend to keep that in my mind when I think about how he's treated my whole family.

Sort:  

Yeah, that's a tough situation but I think you're doing the right thing by showing him respect. My father and I didn't have a perfect relationship...there were some bad times. But ya know....while I was taking care of him in the end. That stuff kinda just went away and we became better friends. Each situation is different and yeah...seems like you went through some shitty times. He's your dad and you're his son after all. Even if he doesn't know how to say it...I'm sure he appreciates that you're there for him. Stay strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66