Gridcoin on a Rented Google Cloud Server

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi everyone,

About two months ago, I was experimenting with Boinc on a Google Cloud server, but unfortunate, today the experiment is over. I used the $300 credit from Google to run an octa-core vCPU for almost 60 days, and I want to share my experience.

Despite the many voices saying that the experiment will be stopped by Google as a violation of their "no crypto mining" policy, the 100% runtime of BOINC was not categorized as abusive, and the octa-core had a major contribution of magnitude increase. Toady, the first day without the vCPU, I barely made 2285 credit points, down from an average of 10k+.

From the economical perspective, there is no positive business case behind paying for Google Cloud to mine Gridcoin, but I fully recommender everybody to take advantage of their $300 free credit!

Sort:  

So?How much GRC???

4GRCs per day, about 240 in total...

Not much...

You beat me on my use of google cloud, I was only getting 2-3. Ended up switching projects part of the way through though since my original estimation didn't work out, so switched to another project that I support and has good WU availability (since checking up on the virtual machine isn't as quick as a physical machine) and seemed to line out in that range. Still got some good research out of the trial though, so worth it to me even for the low GRC payout

I can understand you, but using an account manager is making this very easy. I use the BAM! manager and this makes configuration trivial, without the need to login on the machines.

I should probably set this up too.
Could you add some details on the server specs you choose and the projects you ran? (or have you done an older post about that?)

My article has a link to the initial step-by-step instruction. I selected the octa-core @ 2.3 GHz, with 7.2 GB memory.

Oh, didn't saw that. Guess i was already too tired. Thanks.

Microsoft Azure also has a $200 free trial offer. Although the VM setup is not as easy as Google's, and if I recall correctly, the specs are limited, but you can still earn some GRC by running BOINC there.

This is definitely something that I would like to try! Will keep you updated with my experience with Azure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29