Sort:  

I have a question. I’m boincing with grcpool. Currently I have 700 GRC... do you know how to pass from grcpool to crunch individual projects? Should I uninstall grcpool from boinc or can I deactivate it and activate only enigma for instance?

Posted using Partiko iOS

To move from grcpool to solo mining.
Firstly,

  • It's recommended to have at least a balance of 5000 grc, this will allow you to stake on average once a month. 700 grc may be too low to guarentee a stake within 6 months.

Secondly,

  • You would need to remove ALL projects connected to GRC pool from your boinc client
  • Then either use a Boinc account manager like BAMstats and add the account manager to boinc client, and use the BamStats website to add projects to your account.
  • OR Individually register to each project you want to crunch with the same email address and add each one to the Boinc client.

Thridly,

  • Add your Email Address use with your boinc accounts and your CPID attached to said accounts to your GridcoinReasearch.conf file

This is just an overview of what you need to do to switch to solo crunching, There are likely many little details that would make it easier to understand but I figured I'd not write a 3000 word post on it.

You could follow the solo cruching guide on the gridcoin.us website but it's pretty... messy and somethings may be out of date or just incorrect or confusing.

I'm working on new guides but they won't be done for at least a week or two.

Excellent, thanks.
I did already... the problem is that I my wallet still show INVESTOR and I do not know how the change the "GridcoinReasearch.conf" since I use linux and seem that the name of the file is different...
Anyway, I think difficulty has increased a lot lately and even if I put 5000 it looks pretty difficult to stake once a month...
Thanks for your help. Following you.

It is possible to crunch solo and for a pool at the same time on a single computer, the BOINC client will treat each project/account combination as a separate project and split time between them using normal time sharing rules.
The obvious drawback to crunching pool and solo work concurrently is that you dilute your pool rewards and may not be able to claim your solo rewards if you haven't got enough GRC to stake.
If you do have enough GRC to stake regularly then attaching your projects one at a time in your BOINC client on the same computer as your Gridcoin Wallet could be a good way to transition from pool to solo crunching.
When I went solo I attached a project with a low time share just to test that the Gridcoin Wallet was recognizing my CPID, once I was satisfied that everything was working I detached the pool account and attached my already established BOINC accounts.

excellent advice!

Congratulations @shmoogleosukami! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79