Upgrading your Gridcoin Raspberry Pi nodesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I have written about how to install and control a Raspberry Pi based Gridcoin node, with the release of a new version 3.5.9.1 of the wallet now is a great time to discuss upgrading.

Before doing an upgrade you might want to make a backup of your SD card image, just to be on the safe side. If you encounter any problems you can then just re-load the SD card with your current image. Its worth keeping regular SD card images, I do mine monthly, its much faster than setting up your Pi again.

Its good practice to check for OS upgrades before making other changes:

sudo apt-get update -y && sudo apt-get upgrade -y && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Upgrading is much easier than making a new install, first prepare for re-compiling by closing down all other non essential processes, this will reduce the strain on your R-Pi:

cd /var/lib/boinc-client
boinccmd --quit
sudo systemctl stop gridcoinresearchd.service
cd

Now we go to the Gridcoin-Research folder and download the update from github:

cd Gridcoin-Research
git pull

Once thats completed, we re-compile the source code

cd src
sudo make -f makefile.unix clean
sudo make -f makefile.unix -e PIE=1

Thats going to take a long time, so get a cup of tea. Once its completed we have just a few more steps:

sudo strip gridcoinresearchd
sudo install -m 755 gridcoinresearchd /usr/bin/gridcoinresearchd

Now you can either manually restart all your programs, or perhaps easier:

sudo reboot

Thats it nice and easy. Once your system is running again, you can do:

gridcoinresearchd getinfo

and check you are on the latest version:

Capture.JPG

Sort:  

Now this is gonna be good, I've been wanting to dig into these things for a while now, thank you!

I need to go back and check out your other article, but, I think I may have a long list of questions soon.

General question, while I maniacally plan out heating a greenhouse with BOINC'ing Raspberry Pi's...., Have you touched upon the Zero form factor yet, thoughts on that even being fun to try and figure out, or total futility?

No I have not tried a Pi Zero, the reason is RAM.

Pi 2/3 has a 1Gb RAM, whereas Pi Zero only has 512MB. My Pi 2/3 already needs 44% RAM just for gricoinresearchd which would be 88% on a Pi Zero, plus other overhead of OS etc. my Pi2/3 is running at 509MB RAM.

The point is it may work for now, but as the block-chain grows I have witnesses the RAM requirement grow with it, I think this is due to the block index. If Gridcoin upgrades to allow chain pruning, that may be an answer.

If you want an adventure, for $5 its probably worth a shot, if you do be sure to report back!

Will do! Was looking around just now and found a bonnet where you can place TFT's on the zero, put a pair, make animated eyes. As if I didn't have enough half done projects cluttering everything up.
Thanks for throwing those numbers out though, saved me giving it a longer think, very thoughtful of you to break it down, as I tend to bring hammers when soldering irons should be used.

Whats another half done project, at least it has the others for company ;)

This is interesting @scalextrix. I hadn't realised Raspberry Pi's would be okay for GridCoin. I have two spare Pi's lying around and my backup internet connection that isn't being used. I might have a go.

Although I am really only at 'junior tech' level with the Pi's. Are there any easy from the beginning step by step guides for setting up?

Yeah check the blue links at the top of my post

Great thanks. Sorry didn't pick up those as hyperlinked words on my first read - need to adjust the contrast on my monitor I think!

No worries :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37