Project selection by hardware and software

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

I checked every whitelisted project using their get_project_config.php, and here what I found.

Some unusual things

  • Not all project that support mac also support 32-bit architecture for mac
  • There are exists projects for OpenBSD and FreeBSD
  • yoyo@home supports SPARC Solaris and Linux on PlayStation 3
  • Amicable numbers supports only 64-bit hardware
  • Enigma@home doesn't support AMD/ATI GPU for 32-bit system

Projects that use VirtualBox

  • Cosmology@home (for 64-bit linux, windows and mac)
  • GPUGrid (only for 64-bit linux)
  • LHC (for 32-bit windows and linux, 64-bit windows, linux and mac)

BSD support

  • Asteroids@home (FreeBSD 32 and 64-bit)
  • LatinSquares (FreeBSD 32 and 64-bit)
  • LHC (FreeBSD 64-bit and OpenBSD 64-bit)
  • NFS (FreeBSD 64-bit)

ARM support

  • Amicable numbers
  • Asteroids@home
  • Einstein@home
  • Enigma@home
  • LHC@home
  • Rosetta@home
  • SETI@home
  • TN-grid
  • Universe@home
  • World Community Grid (It greylisted now)
  • yoyo@home

Rasberry Pi support

I have Raspberry Pi 2, so I check this:

  • Asteroids@home
  • SETI@home
  • TN-grid
  • Universe@home
  • yoyo@home
  • Collatz - unusable, task time is more than limit
  • Einstein@home - always returns errors
  • Enigma@home

Unusual hardware

  • SPARC Solaris for yoyo@home
  • Play Station 3 for yoyo@home
  • A20 architecture for Enigma@home, Universe@home
  • Mac PowerPC architecture for Einstein@home, Enigma@home, SETI@home, yoyo@home
  • Mac 32-bit architecture for Asteroids@home, Eistein@home, Enigma@home, GPUGrid, NFS@home, PrimeGrid, SETI@home, yoyo@home

Table form

Sort:  

That sure beats stumbling through a lot of lists, Thank you.

Thanks for this analysis, it can get confusing sometimes about what can work and what will not so this is a nice little reference. I even learned a few things myself.

Additional: Milkyway@Home is right now the only project supporting double precision on GPUs so if you have a Radeon HD7970 or a R9 280x, those are pretty cheap consumer cards that have an amazing single -> double precision value.
The only other cards that offer high double precision compute power are Nvidias Titans and industrial cards

Very useful information. Thank you!

Great work, well done.

yoyo@home runs awesome on the G5 series as long as you compile boinc from source and tell it that you are compiling for a ps3. Also since you mention sparc I actually have an ultra 80 loaded with 4 cpu's and 4gb ram but I prefer FBSD on sparc , I have considered it along with my sun blade 100 getting debian installs but I have been to sick to get out to my boinc cluster and work on it.

Sorry, don't undestand what hardware do you mean when says "G5"

Mac PowerPC architecture for Einstein@home, Enigma@home, SETI@home, yoyo@home

As far as I know, seti@home is the only one of these that currently works on PPC. Part of the problem may be that the available BOINC client is too old for some of these projects. I believe the latest PPC client is 6.12.35. seti@home still works great on PPC though!

Is there no option to build BOINC from sources for that architecture?

I'm sure that it is theoretically possible but I don't know if a modern version could be built without code changes or not. I also haven't heard of anybody building a more modern version for PowerPC (on OSX anyway) and I'm sure if it were trivial it would have been done. At any rate, it is not a rabbit hole i have been tempted to dive into :).

I did find these instructions: http://www.spy-hill.net/myers/help/boinc/boinc-on-darwin.html

...but that's from 2009.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46