You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project selection by hardware and software

in #gridcoin6 years ago
Mac PowerPC architecture for Einstein@home, Enigma@home, SETI@home, yoyo@home

As far as I know, seti@home is the only one of these that currently works on PPC. Part of the problem may be that the available BOINC client is too old for some of these projects. I believe the latest PPC client is 6.12.35. seti@home still works great on PPC though!

Sort:  

Is there no option to build BOINC from sources for that architecture?

I'm sure that it is theoretically possible but I don't know if a modern version could be built without code changes or not. I also haven't heard of anybody building a more modern version for PowerPC (on OSX anyway) and I'm sure if it were trivial it would have been done. At any rate, it is not a rabbit hole i have been tempted to dive into :).

I did find these instructions: http://www.spy-hill.net/myers/help/boinc/boinc-on-darwin.html

...but that's from 2009.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51