Gotta Love Steemit! - My Discovery of GridcoinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin8 years ago

Gridcoin x BOINC

BOINC pronounced 'Bionic' not 'Boink' how I like to say it, is a distributed computing platform that makes use of the idle time on your computer to help solve complex problems like curing diseases,studying global warming and mapping the universe. Various projects worldwide, have massive sets of data. Your computer gets a tiny chunk of a project, works on it and sends it back. It may not seem like much but it helps to push these projects forward.

Through Steemit I was able to learn about Gridcoin and also how to set it up properly with the guide can be found at Gridcoin.us

BOINC has a wide list of projects to contribute to like SETI that listens for communications from extraterrestrial civilizations or the 'World Community' that focus on AIDS, TB, and Zika research. You can pick one or two of your favorite or just have them all running. The former being the better for your energy consumption.

My inner capitalist has decided that the ideal solution is to convince as many friends as possible to install BOINC and have it work on their favorite project. A 'benevolent botnet' if you may. I win grid Gridcoins, my relatives get the feels from helping major world projects and these projects get more computing power. Why hasn't this been around earlier? Given proper incentives humans will change their behaviors.

I run the software myself at around 50% so that I can do my web development and occasional graphic design work without any lag.

Gridcon Accepted Here

What is the future of Gridcoin? I get the same feeling I get about Steem. Making money is great, creating an alternative way to incentivize human positive contribution is even better. Whether its grows steadily, rises rapidly or just fizzles, I'm in. We all like to see something new that helps us all. I call on everyone to do their best to take care of our budding crypto-currencies so that future generations can benefit from and improve on them.

Pay Me in 100% Steem Power

Looking forward to your questions and comments below

Sort:  

Actually, it is pronounced as it is spelled.

BOINC. boink

While it has much to do with bionics, it is what scholars call "an acronym" for Berkeley Open Infrastructure (for) Network Computing. Please don't spread misinformation. It's one of my least favourite things. :D

Peppernrino is right. Here is a Youtube video where David Anderson, director of the BOINC project, pronounces it as BOINK, right in the first few seconds:

Thats what I thought too. Guess the person I was talking about was pronouncing it wrong. Oops * Commits Seppuku*

Your post has been featured in this weeks Gridcoin Weekly at Gridcoin Weekly #6; Week 38.

Thanks a lot. Ive been calling family members and friends to get them signed up. Got 3 so far!

one of us... one of us...

Very nice post, upvoted. Glad to see Steemians joining the Gridcoin movement.

Theyre both awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30