You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Install a Gridcoin Wallet on a Raspberry Pi

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

@confuest Use this command:

wget http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/b/boost1.55/libboost-system1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && wget http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/b/boost1.55/libboost-filesystem1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && wget http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/b/boost1.55/libboost-thread1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && wget http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/b/boost1.55/libboost-program-options1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && sudo dpkg -i libboost-system1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && sudo dpkg -i libboost-filesystem1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && sudo dpkg -i libboost-thread1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && sudo dpkg -i libboost-program-options1.55.0_1.55.0+dfsg-3_armhf.deb && sudo apt-get install gridcoinresearch-qt -y

Let me know if that works!

Sort:  

it's working right now thank you very much!
I'm getting a warning when I type "sudo gridcoinresearch", is it an issue? you can see it below:

"libEGL warning: DRI2: failed to authenticate"

@confuest,
As to the warning, if GUI (graphics user interface) is working. If it is then it's not a problem. If it isn't then it's not too hard to fix.

Also, I will tell you a command to delete all the now unnecessary files that were downloaded:

rm libminiupnpc8_1.6-3ubuntu2_armhf.deb && rm libssl1.0.0_1.0.1t-1+deb8u6_armhf.deb && rm libboost-all-dev_1.55.0.2_armhf.deb
NOTE: make sure you type this command correctly as parts of it delete files.

I'm glad that I could help!

@roboticmind
I upvoted the post TY very much, where can I find the wallet.dat and the config file?

@confuest,
The wallet.dat file should be generated automatically, it stores your private key

For Config file suggestions:
click here

@roboticmind - I commend you on your rad skills here. I am up and rolling with my grid wallet, and joined the seti project which is also running on the same pi as grid. Is this ok? How long until I see some grid being accumlated, and do I need to stake grid coin in the wallet first to get it going?

@smiller I would personally not recommend running BOINC on an rpi. Running BOINC and the Gridcoin wallet on the same rpi might run into ram issues (depends on the model). For the whole question of when will you earn them, that depends on different factors. Are you solo mining or pool mining? If you are pool mining you will earn them faster. If you are solo mining it will take longer and require Gridcoins in your wallet to do so. I would recommend at least starting by pool mining, pools like grcpool.com. You only need to stake to get it going if you are solo mining. Here are some other references sites

For starting pool mining:
https://grcpool.com/

For general Gridcoin Information:
https://www.gridcoin.us/

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the detailed feedback. I'm more interested in the technical feasibility of running gridcoin and boinc on the same raspi 3. I ran Seti for awhile but ran way hot and was overclocking. Now I'm running Primegrid and boinc, and the grid wallet and its running smooth so far. My question is which is the most profitable project to run on the pi? and I haven't been able to figure out what my CPID is on the PI. I have BAM and have an overall CPID that I am using. I'm running Seti and Primegrid on another laptop on my LAN, so am confused how to get the CPIDs working together. Also I was able to get my private key added to the config file, but don't know what the public key is. Any help is appreciated.

@smiller,
With Gridcoin I cannot give a definitive answer to which project is the most profitable as it changes. I will give a link that will show what's the most profitable from the setup of gridcoin.io's, here's the link https://gridcoin.io/#magmon. For the CPIDs, BAM should help with that all on its own. Make sure that each BOINC client is connected to BAM. I don't know what you mean by

Also I was able to get my private key added to the config file, but don't know what the public key is.

Are you referring to the Gridcoin Wallet? What exactly do you mean by adding the private key to the config file? The private key should be in a .dat file, or is this what you are referring to. If you have the wallet.dat file, you should have the public key (the wallet address) in the wallet. Click the receive tab to view the address.

Also as to the technicality of running BOINC on an rpi, It will run. Just that running BOINC will greatly shorten the lifespan of the rpi. Running BOINC and the Gridcoin wallet at the same time will likely run into RAM issues. The Gridcoin Wallet alone is pushing the 1 GB Ram so running BOINC on top of it may crash the rpi.

So I see that you are solo mining and I have a question for you. Do you have any Gridcoin in your wallet? Just be aware that you need a decent amount of Gridcoins to solo mine. It will take longer than pool mining because you will likely have less Gridcoin to stake with.

Hope that helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41