You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Install a Gridcoin Wallet on a Raspberry Pi

in #gridcoin7 years ago

@smiller,
With Gridcoin I cannot give a definitive answer to which project is the most profitable as it changes. I will give a link that will show what's the most profitable from the setup of gridcoin.io's, here's the link https://gridcoin.io/#magmon. For the CPIDs, BAM should help with that all on its own. Make sure that each BOINC client is connected to BAM. I don't know what you mean by

Also I was able to get my private key added to the config file, but don't know what the public key is.

Are you referring to the Gridcoin Wallet? What exactly do you mean by adding the private key to the config file? The private key should be in a .dat file, or is this what you are referring to. If you have the wallet.dat file, you should have the public key (the wallet address) in the wallet. Click the receive tab to view the address.

Also as to the technicality of running BOINC on an rpi, It will run. Just that running BOINC will greatly shorten the lifespan of the rpi. Running BOINC and the Gridcoin wallet at the same time will likely run into RAM issues. The Gridcoin Wallet alone is pushing the 1 GB Ram so running BOINC on top of it may crash the rpi.

So I see that you are solo mining and I have a question for you. Do you have any Gridcoin in your wallet? Just be aware that you need a decent amount of Gridcoins to solo mine. It will take longer than pool mining because you will likely have less Gridcoin to stake with.

Hope that helps!

Sort:  

The videos you linked me too were invaluable, and I wish I had found them earlier. Simple to use videos like that are going to do wonders Gridcoin and Boinc.

Pool mining it turns out is far superior over solo mining, as I didn't realize and wanted to do it all on my own.

My questions in no particular order are going to show my noob'ness

I want to pool using my windows intel processor and use my raspberry pi for staking? My pool'd computer means that I can't stake at the same time as I'm pool'ing correct?

I was running PrimeGrid and Seti before I joined the Amicable Numbers and TN-Grid projects. I suspended Seti, but I think I'll detach it entirely as it's not very profitable. PrimeGrid now I think is consuming all of my cpu time and thus my new pool'd projects are not getting any cpu time and are idle.

Could I stake on the raspi and just run the wallet, and purge boinc-client. I presume it doesn't matter how many gridcoins I have in my wallet to be able to pool, and I could send any coins that accumulate to the pi to stake.

The more I think about this, the more I think I'm all set. I'm going to get rid of the boinc manager on the pi until they come out with raspi 4 or something like that.

Cosmology seems to be the project with the highest magnitude, but I'll do more research and check back for updates.

Thanks for your detailed work and responses, it is appreciated.

@smiller,

I am assuming that by pooling you are referring to running BOINC and using the pool's account manager. Tell me if that's not what you meant.

To answer your first question, you can stake on the rpi and run BOINC on the computer at the same time. This means you can earn your PoS (Proof of Stake) rewards.

Running the rpi for staking is absolutely fine! Plus you're helping secure the Gridcoin network. With small amounts of Gridcoin, it may take a while, but staking will happen eventually.

Also, Make sure you keep checking what the better projects are to use as they fluctuate frequently.

I am glad I could help you out!

@roboticmind

Yes, by pooling I meant running Boinc and using the pool's account manager. It is running great for the most part on my Intel box, but I switched over to the Moo wrapper project to get my magnitude up and it isn't synching correctly yet but Amicable Projects and TN Grid seem to be working fine. Very happy.

On the Raspberry Pi side, I'm still having some issues (I think).
Against your advice I am running Boinc AND the Gridcoin wallet
At one point I added the PrimeGrid project, and had also added the Moo Wrapper project. I had a heck of time getting Seti processes to stop spawning but that has finally stopped and the boincmanager is stable and running, and temp is good.

My question is what are the key command lines to detach PrimeGrid, and just run Moo wrapper, and have it pay out to the Raspi Pi wallet. and how do I determine if Moo wrapper is actually running?

boinccmd --get_tasks shows nothing

boinccmd getstakinginfo shows (partial)

"MiningProject" : "INVESTOR",
"MiningInfo 1" : "All BOINC projects exhausted.",
"MiningInfo 2" : "Poll: missing-logic:_project_equality_poll_(abstain,_etc)",

and my CPID is not populated

I can rerun execute advertisebeacon but it shows success, but nothing really changes. I have 1.5 GRC, but can up this to >100 if that helps.

I really don't HAVE to stake on the Raspberry Pi, would be interested if there was a way to join the pool on the raspi using command line as I am running headless.

@smiller

On grcpool it will think your computer isn't synced properly until the machine communicates with grcpool (that happens every so often)

For joining pools headless while running BOINC headless use:

boinccmd --join_acct_mgr grcpool.com [USERNAME] [PASSWORD]
(one line)

And to attach and remove projects use (not necessary when pool mining):
boinccmd [Project URL] --detach
boinccmd --project_attach [URL} [CPID I think]

The Gridcoin Wallet's CPID information shouldn't matter if you are pool mining.

Hope that helps!

This was great.

You were missing a command
--lookup_account URL email password
Look up account and print account key.

boinccmd --project_attach [URL} [account key]

and no extra --detach, it is
boinccmd [Project URL] detach

The key was joining the pool via the command line, I was missing that part. Joined moo, and to sync, you restart

boinccmd --quit_acct_mgr
and then
boinccmd --join_acct_mgr grcpool.com [USERNAME] [PASSWORD]

my next question, and I'm thinking I have it straight, is I just stake my gridcoin wallet per usual, but at the same time boinccmd is synching to the pool, sort of separate entities on the pi. Very cool, and so far doesn't seem to be too CPU intensive. I've backed up my wallet.dat and gridcoinresearch.conf file. Do I also need to dumpprivatekey and save that as well, or is it embedded into the .conf file somehow.

I think now that Gridcoin, and Proof of Research projects can be set up by someone like myself that is not super techy is huge for GRC. I see it popped 15% today, and then is drifting lower again. I wish the staking reward was closer to 5% rather than 1.5% but nonetheless, I think all the good work the team is doing is going to develop an enthusiastic following.

OK, I thought of one more questions. I tried to download the Android Boinc, as I'd like to add my phone as a host on the pool. Is this possible or is the application still in development. When I loaded it up, it got stuck on the opening screen. Maybe I just wasn't being patient enough, but I couldn't find anything online about that subject.

I'm going through the basement looking for hosts to get up and running. I have an old Apple IIc haha :), but seriously I think I'm going to see if my girlfriend will give me her ancient windows laptop that I can get up and boincing.

@smiller,

Before I start I want to apologize for the command mix up.

You can actually use Android devices to pool mine. There's a video on it from grcpool.com
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dB-Hmg94E6s

For backing up the Gridcoin wallet you only need the wallet.dat and the .conf file. I don't know what the dumpprivatekey file is and I've not had a problem going without it.

For the syncing with the manager, it will also happen automatically.

Glad that everything is working!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40