You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am Very Disappointed by the Upcoming V8 Removal of the Magnitude Component of the Gridcoin Staking Weight

in #gridcoin7 years ago

These calculations can't possibly be correct. If you check my stats when I switched to PoS I staked on average 3.75 times per day with ~46k GRC. If we check the 4 days after and the 4 days before we get:

  • 4 most recent days as researcher, average mag 115: 2.5 stakes/day
  • Big jump to 16/7
  • 4 days as researcher, average mag 150: 5.25 stakes/day
  • 4 days as investor, mag 0: 3.75 stakes/day
  • 4 days as researcher, average mag 155: 3.75 stakes/day

I will switch to investor during the weekend and see how often I stake.

Sort:  

I based all those numbers off the wallet's staking estimates, which correlated nicely with Vortac's approximate stake rate (and he is primarily an investor in terms of GRC/mag ratio).

Based on your numbers, you essentially got no boost from your mag to help you stake in the current stake engine...?

EDIT: I just realised you are effectively an investor too. Most miners are not sitting on ~50k GRC. You will not be affected heavily by V8 as you are probably near the sweet spot where increased balance stake rate and removal of mag stake weight cancel.

Writing it here as well: my 115 mag and 34 UTXOs has the same stake weight as 4000 GRC. I would say this mostly affects users with a lot of UTXOs.

dutch, I really appreciate the way you explain things, no offense but it seems to work along better than others explanations with my brain, lol. You should hear how I have to turn things around for my wife.

I've never really looked into the big fish of GRC, looked at their stats etc., because what would be the point, GRC is supposed to be altruistic, and now I have. I'm about to pass RHalford in one project, but he's made no movement there in a long time, merely "invested" and sat in that position. I really should have given that a think when I started, but, I was more excited to do research for research sake, and others are playing a different game. Ok, well, game on.

GRC is supposed to be altruistic

That may be the perception by some, but this has never been an official stance within the Gridcoin network. For-Profit and non-scientific projects are likely going to be a reality in the future.

he's made no movement there in a long time

Similar to the vast majority of the BOINC network, they have become inactive in crunching due to real life situational changes.

I was more excited to do research for research sake, and others are playing a different game.

You can do that without gridcoin, the introduction of gridcoin in the picture means you're playing the same game.

Me : GRC is supposed to be altruistic

cm-steem :That may be the perception by some, but this has never been an official stance within the Gridcoin network. For-Profit and non-scientific projects are likely going to be a reality in the future.

I have typed my response to this, like four times now, thank God for backspace, because I feel like I am forced to pretend that I did not hear that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64