The first prototype of the 3D gridcoin

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Here it is. The first print is ready. The printer took 58 minutes to produce this 4 gram coin. I'm no professional photographer and these small objects are not that easy to picture decently.

P1060010.JPG

Open the image in a new tab to see it in more detail.

For a first print I'm quite satisfied. I didn't do any optimization, just use the default settings and print. The pictures make it look worse than it looks. They are very zoomed in and lighting plays a role. What's next? This is what I'm thinking about.

  • The printer I'm using can print two colors. I'm thinking about different color for the cut out part (the part that is lower). Maybe a white color could change the look dramatically.
  • I will ask if the fablab could order a purple color fillament to better match the new gridcoin theme.
  • Investigate to give the cut out part a more flat surface.
  • Design a backside
  • Maybe add some more detail

I'm not a designer. I'm a simple geek who likes to toy around. All design advice is welcome! All opinions/feedback is greatly appreciated. If you have ideas for change just share them. I'll see what I can achieve.

P1060012.JPG

One more note: someone asked me if I have any plans with it. I didn't really think about that. If there is demand I'm willing to make some but I do not intend to make a gadget factory or profit.

Now ... waiting eagerly for your feedback!

Sort:  

Damn man! Looks great! Wouldn't mind having one for myself. You could print the coins out with a code on the back, that's hooked up to a faucet, then when you type the code into the faucet you get some GRC sent to your address. It would be a great gimmick to promote Gridcoin at events and such.

Physical Souvenir + Free GRC = Great Time

Great idea. I had two ideas for the backside. A GRC value but that would be kind of meaningless. A unique number to make it a unique coin. Your idea comes close to the second but makes it even better. I would have to investigate how to easily print a different number each time.

Do you think of a different code on each coin?

I was thinking that on the back you could have the coin number, the "faucet" code, and the amount of GRC the code is worth.

Or to make it easier you could combine the coin number with the faucet code. So if you manufacture 100 coins and give them out, the code could show the coin manufacturing number followed by 6 randomized characters. So the codes would go 001XXXXXX, 002XXXXXX, 003XXXXXX, ... 100XXXXXX. Where the X's are the randomized characters. This way we could have each coin have the same value, or different values, without the risk of people stealing others rewards. Hell you could even make it like a lottery, where some of the coins have 1000 GRC, while others have 10. What do you think?

I think it is a very good idea! But first it needs to be determined if it is just us being enthusiastic or if it is a project worth putting time and effort in.
It takes me an hour to print one. Prototypes are ok. But 100 pieces ... Then we need to think about 3D manufacturing services.
Who would/could distribute them and where?
It would require involvement from the people managing the faucet.
It would require funds and organization.

Those are the first things jumping to my mind. But I certainly like the idea. It just needs more community involvement.

Agreed. I was just saying 100 for sake of explaining the code on the back, but if we wanted to we could with a 3D printing service. There's one in my town that charges $0.25 per cm³. So a coin thats 2mm thick, and has a 40mm diameter, would cost $0.625 a coin, and $62.50 for 100 coins, then we'd have to raise funds for the faucet, which would we would have to set up. If we were to do this,I say we do it for a big event. I don't see us running into any problems with the community jumping in to help for a large event.

Great ideas guys! The only problem I see is the distribution process. I'm sure the foundation fund could be used to print those coins. Would love to see this happening!

I wouldn't say the distribution process would be that difficult. If a trusted member of the Gridcoin community is going to a big event to spread the word, then we could order some coins a month or so ahead of time, and mail them to him/her to hand out.

thanks for sharing

Sorry, fablab is closed now. Have to wait till Wednesday
;-)

Added a second picture. Somehow it got lost in the original post :-s

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jef Patat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53