You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Counting FLOPSs in a FLOPS - part 1

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Great post, thank you for writing this!

I was considering addressing this in my last post but I decided not to as it was already quite long. Thank you for taking the time to explain it here.

Regarding the points you've made (in reference to the ER I proposed in my post):

  1. If this post wasn't written as a response to mine, sorry for making the assumption, the timing and your comment makes it seem so.

  2. The same CPU or GPU will perform differently on difference projects - i.e. carry out the same number of FLOP in a different amount of time on different projects - due to the reasons you mentioned. In response to one of @donkeykong9000's questions, I pointed out that the ER model would encourage using hardware in the most efficient way possible. I was referring to using FP32-efficient GPUs on FP32 projects, and FP64-efficient GPUs on FP64 projects. However, the same applies to GPUs/CPUs with architecture better suited to some projects than others - in this sense, there would be an incentive to use your hardware on the projects on which it would perform the best (not the worst thing in the world, since that increases overall efficiency). As to whether these points would/should elicit a different ER, that's a good question, and I'm totally open to the idea (if that's what you're trying to get at here, I don't know).

  3. The same point guk made in his comment.

  4. What's part 2 going to be about?

Sort:  

If this post wasn't written as a response to mine, sorry for making the assumption, the timing and your comment makes it seem so.

I've started to research FLOPSes ;) as I want to understand relative network powers of gridcoin and curecoin.

The same point guk made in his comment.

You pulled me in, guys. I have an idea, stay tuned.

I'd say I'm looking forward to seeing it, but it's already up ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61