#4 Gridcoin.ch faucet donation post

in #gridcoin6 years ago


Everything I collect with this post will be donated to the faucet!

Why donations are important

Gridcoin is growing recently and new users are joining every day. If a user wants to start mining he has to send a beacon which costs a small amount of Gridcoins. Even if the worth of the Gridcoins the users need is extremely small this is an obstacle for new users. A faucet helps new users to get started fast and completly for free. There is no need to signup or to beg for a donation.

Gridcoin has two faucets at the moment: 1, 2.
Both faucets have distributed large amounts of Gridcoin to the community. The operators pay for the Gridcoins themself. But faucets are important for the Gridcoin community so the community should support the faucets!

Past donations

This is the fourth post with which I hope to collect steem dollars to donate to the Gridcoin Switzerland Faucet. You'll find the other posts here: 1, 2, 3.
Thanks to all the upvoters I was able to donate about 1851 Gridcoins to the faucet.

Newest donation

I cant go further back in my steemit history so I can't show you how much I earned with the last post :/ Sorry for that.


I traded the collected steem dollars on bittrex for bitcoin.


And then I traded the bitcoins for Gridcoins also on bittrex.


I finally filled up the faucet with the Gridcoins bought from the post and added some of my own Gridcoins as well =)

Further information about Gridcoin

  • Gridcoin Homepage - The actively maintained and developed homepage of GRC globally.
  • Gridcoin Subreddit - Anything GRC related. The developers read the comments posted here, and will in all likelihood directly address any questions you pose within the day.
  • Gridcoin on Wikipedia - About Gridcoin
  • Getting started - Information about how to get started with Gridcoin
Sort:  

This post was upvoted by Steemgridcoin with the aim of promoting discussions surrounding Gridcoin.

This service is free. If you want to help the initiative, feel free to upvote this comment.

Have a nice day.

Disclaimer: This account was created by @Ragnarokdel and is not associated in any shape or form with the official gridcoin devs team.

I strive myself to do my best, but I receive little support. so thank you for your hard work man, you are one of the few who try to do something.

Thanks for the kind words. But there are many out there that try to help on slack, reddit, telegram etc.
Just ask there if you need any help.

I love the idea, that the community behind this coin is so altruistic.

It's nice for once to work together with people who genuinely hope to "help the world" also in the sence that if you help other gridcoining then you help the world.

Keep up the good work!

And I love that Gridcoin gives me an opportunity to donate more power to science :D

I was doing BOINC stuff even back in the time BOINC itself didn't exist. So when I saw Gridcoin, I jumped on it. Since then I have always bought bigger (and more) hardware then I need lol. But I certainly also did quite some FLOPS for science ;)

I'm still working on growing my steem vote weight, maybe then it'll give more than a cent per vote haha.

I'll try to help you =)
But my vote isn't much worth too.

Hi @grider123, I think I ran across a bug on the faucet. Here is the behavior I observed:

  • It told me the captcha failed, so I filled it out again.
  • It said it failed again.
  • Then it sent coins twice.
    I think it has an error that is spitting out coins multiple times because it thinks the captcha failed so it doesn't make the person wait for 24 hrs.

Cheers,

@dcj

Thanks @dcj for the report! I will look into that =)

I got my first ~0.1 GRC ever from Gridcoin.ch, so here's my tiny puny 1 cent steemit vote as a thank you to the community.
Happy boincing eveyone!

Cool to see that newbies use and appreciate this service =)
Thanks for your upvote.

Definitely upvoting this. I have been using 2 listed faucets almost daily for last 2 weeks (when I discovered GridCoin). I'm BOINC veteran so supporting GridCoin is a no brainer :)

Thanks for your help :)

Great , but really there is no reason that the foundation should not donate quarterly 5k or 10k GRC seeing as your faucet is open to all users and not limited like gridcoinstats and they get 20k quarterly , yes you are not a block explore but you took the time to buy the domain and build the website and the possibilities of what you can turn gridcoin.ch into is endless , I would recommend setting up openssl it seems half the teams got their heads up their asses and refuse to use a site or project that isn't SSL . There needs to be a foundation vote on a set amount to donate to your faucet , you help new users start out solo and not being forced to mine in BGB's monopoly pool. I fully 100% will continue to encourage a vote and foundation donations , I like your site its keep it simple and great for new users.. I am also willing to help you out and eliminate any hosting charges if you are paying for hosting as I have racks in 5 local data centers and from the get go been willing to host anything and everything that anyone came up with as my donation to the project Gridcoin itself seeing as you know as well as I do its all out of your own pocket and the foundation does not pay for your site and its overhead costs. Keep it up , I am sorry that 520grc was not much but I hope it held you over long enough... A steady 5k from the community would really help in addition to your steemit funds. If you would like to converse more about hosting , you can join me on the official unofficial Gridcoin dedicated irc network ircd.stablenode.net it will auto join you to #gridcoin and we can figure out if and how I could help you since you are doing a big help to the community and new users freeing them from having to crunch under grcpool putting money in the hosts pocket on the large sums interest... Don't think he built the code and released only 90% of what you need to get it up and running for the hell of it , he makes plenty money off people crunching under his CPID's.

Can you please start reading replies to your comments? The foundation does not send GRC to gridcoinstats. Where did you get this idea?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42