Printing Gridcoin Stickers

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

As a second step of marketing activities for Gridcoin (step 1 will be a fun video that I still need to cut) I created some images that I want to use to print stickers for spreading the word on Gridcoin.

The drafts are on Github and committed as a pull-request to Gridcoin-Marketing (https://github.com/gridcoin-community/Gridcoin-Marketing/pull/1/commits/4f06e6b47d83893d3077961a9c30734e04a4efce).

Example 1:

Example 2:

Some feature a QR code that simply leads to the gridcoin.us website. One thing I would love to do in the future is put in a link to a rather generous faucet, but I did not yet get around to setting one up. Let me know if anyone wants to help out in setting one up and in boosting a community effort to charge the wallet behind the faucet. That might lead to some nice "treasure hunt" activity around discovering these stickers (with a little bit of QR code rotation).

Before I print: What do you think? Is anything missing? Is anything totally out of place?

Sort:  

Nice idea!

#2 works better from a design perspective - the white contrasts better against your background picture. You might try using one of the purple logos that has a solid white background - this will ensure it stands out against whichever background you use it on :)

My initial idea for stickers was to get some full colour die-cut hexagonal vinyl ones made up:

Screen Shot 2017-09-08 at 14.45.25.png

The text surrounding this can easily be edited to hold a message, or you could just leave one URL and slap thousands of them up in cities over the world and wait for curious individuals to visit it and find out what it's all about ;)

Uh ... I like that hexagon shape design idea ... sadly the printing service I had in mind does not offer highly customized shapes ...

Could be printed on a large format printer on self adhesive vinyl foil in a sign shop, but would need some manual labour and scissors after :) I think prices start from around £25 per sq meter and you can fit plenty hexagons, also in different sizes at once.

Aww, darn - on the off-chance you're in the UK I have some recommendations for places that can do this. They're a similar cost to regular rectangular vinyl stickers :)

@joshoeah Alright, I think I found a place and would like to also do a run of your design. Do you have a source file for that? Would you be willing to share it? Is it okay to adapt, reproduce, and share that sticker design? I'd like to slightly adjust the wording around the hexagon.

Absolutely - what format would you like? I work in Illustrator so it's an .ai file currently. Can convert it to whatever you like and remove all text around the outside for you to add your own.

*.ai is perfect ... feel free to share ... I'm at gmail with this same account name ... please don't bother to put in work to make adjustments ... I can do that at least

Hey - apologies for the delay. That should be with you now.

I love this one :D

I think its example 2 will be the most relevant, just my opinion.

Am really rooting for Gridcoin

I love the idea! Setting up a faucet is really easy. The main problem you will have is getting enough funds, depending on your definition of 'generous' and how many people you expect to visit.

Keep us posted. =)

True that! I'd love to see a GRC faucet bot on steem that regularly posts updates of the amount available in the faucet and on how much was given out per user, encouraging the community to contribute through steem votes (which are then converted to GRC, or through direct contributions to a wallet) ... bots/apps with "their own" wallets are still funny to think off, but I think they will play a huge role in the future (living inside your office coffee machine, your car, that random charging station at the airport, etc.). Especially if they are implemented on a blockchain, thus removing the need to trust maintainers with the wallet income (at least in terms of what the program will do ... there will still need to be a private key stored somewhere safe / off the chain).

I have been looking into creating a steemit bot lately but didn't found a good cause for it. If interested contact me in slack if you'd like to discuss the idea further.

living inside your office coffee machine

At first I laughed out loud, and then after some more thought I think you're right... That's crazy, but not unlikely in the near future...

In a way, we can already see this happening on a small scale outside crypto. There was an experiment by a tech firm (the name escapes me) who took a selfdriving car and connected it to Uber. They also gave the car its own bank account to collect earnings and buy fuel. It's a totally automomous robot - and the experiment only ended when the car broke down.

I like the first one.

I look no.2 better :)

Congratulations @forkpullmerge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @forkpullmerge! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @forkpullmerge! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61