I am in San Francisco / the Bay Area; How Should I Promote GRIDCOIN?

in #gridcoin7 years ago

gridcoin.png

Hey @dutch, @sc-steemit, @dutch, @grider123, @peppernrino, @cm-steem, @jringo and the other GRC freaks here ...

Like many of you here I am supporting GRIDCOIN - despite all the problems that still need fixing - since it is just sad to see so much "overhead computation" being "wasted" on other crypto currencies (yes - I know - I'm over-simplifying). I am also a researcher and have done a little bit of BOINC crunching in the past.

Being a researcher has recently brought me to the bay area and to the birthplace of the BOINC project at UC Berkeley. Hence the question: I think that Gridcoin is a cause worth supporting and being in the area might make for some nice opportunities to generate momentum. There are a lot of techies here and a lot of potential investors.

golden-gate-2114614_1920.jpg

My personal ideas evolve around a typical video-blog thing, carrying a flyer / card around for social events, and creating a local "blockchain society". Before I invest the little time I can spare and miss out on more optimal ideas:
What are your thoughts? What does Gridcoin need in terms of local activism? What could be initiatives that scale and actually generate more Gridcoin researchers / investors?

I'm hoping to generate some leads for activities / materials / whatever / that somehow bring across - at best directly embody - the unique value propositions of Gridcoin (supporting actual research projects; earning money while doing so; potentially n-time return investment; etc.).

I'm excited to see and discuss what you can come up with down below in the comments...

Sort:  

Sounds very promising! We should try to spread the word that this can be really a platform for serious science crunching. In the end a project could really rent computational powers by investing in gridcoin and setting things up and this would most likely be much cheaper than to try to host this power by oneself. This is just my idea though I think iam not the first one with this in mind. (Since I joined gridcoin only a few months back I would really really doubt this).
Go gridcoin

Agree. Did anyone consider founding a legit non-profit to further that cause yet? I have a little bit of experience with California non-profits and I think such a structure might be nice to facilitate growth (looking at Mozilla for example) ... if the org. would for example host a donate button that converts dollar donations to GRC behind the scenes that might even make this form of giving tax-deductible...

Thanks for the pointer. Is Alien on steemit? Else I might contact him through the board.

I don't think he is here, best is to use the forum for that

There is more and more talk about putting together some sort of donation based project funding structure/organization, but I think most of it revolves around building something outside of Gridcoin, for now. To make the whole of Gridcoin a registered non-profit would require a few things that are still just a bit out of reach, I think.

Yeah sure ... there can easily be a non-profit (of the same or similar name even) while the technology is retained as a crowd-based asset.
If the bylaws of the nonprofit are forged the right way, the primary cause would still be to serve the purposes of BOINC through Gridcoin ... this is a unique advantage compared to other cryptos as it would make nonprofit status much easier to argue.

I have been trying to push this angle, but the overall reaction to it has not been positive from the community. That is disappointing, as I view the ability to purchase compute as the GRC trump card.

Still planning on setting up a project for my lab regardless.

Loading...

In terms of design - if you'd like a flyer, card or anything physical / digital designed then give me a shout! I've been toying with some new advertising ideas that should be appearing in a post I'll make soon, so keep an eye out for that too :)

Awesome ... I would also chip in on manufacturing costs ... in addition we could start a little steem campaign for funding flyers / cards with different wallets for dedicated regions.

Sounds like a plan! If you're active on the Team Gridcoin Slack then feel free to contact me on there (same username, or check the branding channel) to discuss any ideas you might have :)

You mentioned that you're a researcher. What would be good promotion in my opinion if you or one of your colleagues would create a BOINC project that gets whitlisted. If researchers see the benefit of being on the whitelist they will spread the news on their own.

Yes, we do have plenty of researchers with quite heavy crunching requirements here ... will definitively try to get them hooked :) ...

That sounds amazing! Hope we'll some new projects soon :D

Hello forkpullmerge, hello Community,

quick question: Do we have possibilities to create paper wallets? I only remember that there was some trouble, but this was ages ago. Because creating paperwallets, loading them with 10, 50 or 100 Gridcoin and distributing them would be a really nice reason for people to have a look and maybe install a wallet, and when there is a wallet they maybe think about boincing and then - new Gridcoiners! What do you think?

I love this idea ... and it is something that might resonate here!

If it is about funds, I'd be happy to chip in a few GRCs, you do not need to cough it up on your own! Otherwise, this is something that the foundation might support? Is someone on Steemit who can speak on their behalf?

Have you seen yet the marketing tasks (e.g. slogans, flyers/posters, outreach, ...)

I'd suggest you make a tattoo with GRC on your forehead, nothing more convincing than that ;-) kidding

On a more serious note, I am not sure. I agree that this is a great opportunity, and look forward to reading about whatever you end up doing.

Congratulations @forkpullmerge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55