Gridcoin mining is the best! For CPU - My success story

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Right now mining of Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies is hard.
But there is Gridcoin!
Let me share success story of mining Gridcoin
The reason why I got interested in this coin, is that mining process helps science and not wastes energy and power.

So I started to mine Gridcoin few weeks ago and here are results

I mined more than 52 GRIDCOINS!

What's more important - the more you mine - the more you get!

As you can see I have 3 HOSTS - it means 3 devices which I used to mine.

  1. MacBook Pro - I mined on it only 1 day, to test. Then stopped, because it's really not so good to work on it while it's mining.

But I have other devices, why not to use them

  1. iMac - it was most powerful, as it also used GPU (AMD video card, not only CPU)

  2. Lenovo laptop

Right now as I write this post 52.112 GRC = 1.65 USD
That's not much, BUT
I'm sure GRC will grow because first of all it has good concept, and secondly active community, even here on Steemit I follow some people who are active in Gridcoin!

And of course let's use Gridcoin for buying/selling good and services!

Sort:  

I tried GRC CPU mining with my DELL Laptop but was afraid it might overheat or something, that's not worth trying at the moment. Well congratulations on your Gridcoin earnings.

Thanks.
I think following: If you use your laptop for active working - then it's not worth, but if you don't use it for working - that is definitely worth. And the more you mine in time - the more you get, that's also the thing which I like.
And 1 more great thing with Gridcoin is Staking - when you have solid amount of Gridcoins you will receive coins just for keeping them, that's why I also continue mining and don't sell/trade Gridcoins.
At some moment mining might become not so profitable, but while it brings 1-5 coins a day I think that's good!

Yes absolutely right I use my laptop for working. I have an old PC which has a decent CPU at its time, might as well try mining with it. Did not know that Gridcoin has staking. Will look deeper into it. Yes absolutely staking will be profitable and as long as the prices increase it will be very profitable and good in the future.

Yes, that's why I will mine at least for some time, even if electricity will cost more (didn't check on this)
You can connect old PC, this looks like good idea

Yes it has an i7 CPU and a decent Radeon GPU but it was 2013. I will see if it will be great to mine Gridcoin with it. Cheers!

Let us know later how it goes
Grtidcoin community is quite active on Steemit!
Amount of comments on my modest post - is one more proof of it!

Yes in the past I have posted some posts about Gridcoin and yes, the Community here in Steemit is active. Will let you know what I can come up with my old PC.

With an older laptop you won't earn much but you can still do BOINC work while using it. If performance is a problem, configure BOINC to only use some of the cores (say 50%) or to only do work when the screen saver is active. It might not get you as much but it all adds up and part of the excitement is not knowing how much the value might rise in the future.

Yes, thanks, these are reasonable suggestions!

Way to go! Do you leave them on 24/7?

Lenovo laptop I leave recently 24/7,
iMac also worked 24/7 during most of the period which was covered. Now I will use it not 24/7 but only from time to time.
And I'm thinking about may be getting some old computers to run BOINC)
Also recommending Gridcoin mining for friends

Nice article I'll look more into Gridcoin! For Science!!

You are doing good with your devices! Resteemed.
May I ask you how much Mag you have with the Lenovo laptop?
Keep BOINCing!!!
Cheers!

Just checked and I have 0.16
That looks very small comparing to Mag which I have with iMac - 14.49
And also may be it depends from the projects which I choose.
If you are interested, I can make detailed screenshot

Thanks for the reply... Seems that, as expected, the iMac GPU is definetelly much more efficient than the lenovo CPU... is your lenovo working 24/7?
My lenovo laptop has currently 0.31 Mag just BOINcing 2 or 3 h a day...

Yes, last few days I run it 24/7 and also have Gridcoin wallet there open (for Staking to be active)
May be my Lenovo is older and I also run some other tools there

great info man thanks
upvoted

Thanks you Omar, I start to follow you

do not work for me. showing worker 100%. does not show any gridcoin average per day, cpu and gpu working on minimum. left for an hour, showing last contact 1 hour ago

All this stats as average per day will be updated later, in a day or so
Payments are also made once a day

crached my computer and corrupted mycomputer. i will stay mining with minergate https://minergate.com/a/eb004e0cd75bd81bb0625a3f

How you crashed and corrupted it?
I tried it on several different computers and everything is fine

I have my broken screen Samsung Android doing boinc 24/7 lol

Is this a joke? You were doing mining on mobile phone?

I would like to mine using a Dell PowerEdge R200, specs are as follow:
CPU - Intel Xeon X3330 / 2.66 GHz
Number of Cores - Quad-Core
64-bit Computing - Yes
Data Bus Speed - 1066 MHz
Chipset Type -Intel 3200

Do you think this will work?

Yes I think it will work

Absolutely not, sorry, esteem Android app is slow lol

So it didn't work? I think you should mine at least some Gridcoins with such capacity

I mean im not joking, i earned 1 gridcoin for 6-7 days lol

You know what I think, as I ran mining on iMac (which was powerful) and then stopped (because I'm not using it now) - and continue to mine on laptop only, but because I mine for some time, this power is also continues to run on inertia,, I see decreasing in mining day by day, but still I have around 1 GRC a day..
May be I'll have less, but I believe GRC will grow so that's good to continue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43