What do you think about this new Gridcoin picture?

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Rob just posted the below picture here.

What do you think about it? Reply below or in the forum!


See also:



Sort:  

Sorry to jump in so late, but this is actually old artwork from the original 99designs contest. This was the winning mock-up, which appears to have been tweaked since to give the current logo. You can see more here - this competition wrapped up around three years ago.

It feels a little confusing to present this back to the current community with no explanation, particularly since the image of Gridcoin has actually moved away from this quite ostentatious representation since the contest ended.

For what it's worth - I also took a look at the detailed brief for this contest when starting the design process, as well as what was popular and not so popular last time, to better inform the process this time around.

Great find! Makes sense

Nice picture, but scale it down to a 728x90 banner and all details are lost and it looks like a mush inside a golden ring. Also, there is a contradicting message: heavy golden rings don't really go along with humanitarian slogans ("the first cryptocurrency with a humanitarian purpose"). In my opinion, we should stick with @joshoeah redesign:

https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@joshoeah/gridcoin-branding-update-1

I've always liked the original logo but I also I like and prefer Josh's new logo because of it's simplicity. As stated by others it remains easily recognizable even when scaled down, an important feature for compelling logos. I voted "Yes" for Josh's logo. Regarding the slogan, it's a step in the right direction, GRC needs a slogan. However, Gridcoin needs to reach a broader audience that may not be in the crypto world, or even be aware of Steem, etc. In my pursuit of exposing people to GRC they get glossy-eyed the first time they hear me say "cryptocurrency" and I know I've lost them at that point. Hence, I feel we should avoid "cryptocurrency" in the slogan. A slogan which simply states the end result, that Gridcoin helps people help science would pique people's interest without scaring them away.

Instead of cryptocurrency, use phrase "digital currency". It's the word 'crypto' that's scary for newbs.

Also agree with that statement. The "old" logo is a cool addition, but could cause confusion since it can't be used on all places. As you say, it gets hard to see what it's all about.

I'm a fan of the new cleaner design.

I agree. The art is nice but it is just that - art. This is not a logo.

I agree with vortac; the logo seems too posh/luxurious for a scientific objective, although I like the shiny appearance in general. Besides, we're currently living in the material design age: the flatter the better ;-)

EDIT: I have posted a more in depth response on the cryptocurrencytalk thread found here


I see this as a perfect splash page for an app -- the first and last image. I also like the middle image but I think the text could be integrated more.

I do not think the logo of the first and third images will scale well for exchanges.

I like the idea of having this image as a complex logo -- something for shirts, apps, for places where it fits -- and the proposed simplified logo for exchanges and wherever else a more simplified logo is required.

Did he give any indication of whether these are mockups or part of a website he is building? No real detail in the thread...

In my humble opinion, I think the new logo/icon is clean and identifiable for areas where scalability is required.

The artwork portrayed above is correct for web site and splash applications as scaling this to smaller sizes will lose definition.

Nice design though, but not suitable for across the board application.

I think the slogan should be a synopsis of our 'mission statement' ..

boinc

I think this looks much better than the new design, despite the fact that it doesn't scale well. But either way, I don't think it matters much. Having good branding is not going to suddenly make this coin's value skyrocket like some people seem to think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64