You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Give in to BTC FOMO - Why I am Buying GRC Instead!

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Most people invested in crypto will likely have some BTC as it is a coin that is often traded through to get to another coin. So yes, while GRC has not moved much relative to the USD, it has dropped significantly relative to BTC due to the latter's colossal climb over the last few weeks.

And what do you mean by purchase cheap compute?!

As someone who has spent significant time active in the community I thought you were aware of this? Anyone is able to rain GRC on a project to encourage crunchers on the Gridcoin network to run their jobs. Whitelisted projects are supported directly through the wallet client, while @Scalextrix has released a python script that allows the same for projects not yet on the whitelist.

As such, I may very well be purchasing compute when I purchase GRC!

Sort:  

If you do that @dutch let me know and I'll switch over some crunching power to you, it's not much atm [10 core, 4 gpu at 5+ gflops] but i like what you do 😁

Thank you! It's a work in progress, but I will keep the community updated.

I am very aware. I discuss an alternative to that idea with @nightshift1134 in his post, A New Project Called Rain and explain some terms that will be used for further discussion in my post The Value of Gridcoin - A Continuation and Response - An Alternative Rain Proposal

Gridcoin as its ticker represents a length of time spent volunteering processing power on the platform BOINC. If we begin to see GRC as something you buy to fund projects that need to be computed we have turned into GOLEM, iEx, or SONM, and at that point we put ourselves at a huge disadvantage.

I think we could incorporate a rain aspect more into GRC, but BOINC will not like it as it will completely destroy the gamified volunteer computing economy they have built over the past few decades. If we do this, we would need intense regulation. What is to stop another BTC Utopia type effect from happening?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59