You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gridcoin journey: Part 2 - The wallet

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Good read, hope it helps new users get their bearings.

Note: In one of my experiments I ended up with the download window stopping at 99% without any further indication of what was going on. Being clueless I ended up aborting the process and I followed the steps described here, which worked out fine.

The download progress bar gets stalled at 99% for quite a few users. In the background, the blockchain is still being downloaded and your wallet is still syncing. You can check this by looking at the blockchain archive in your Gridcoin wallet directory, which will continue to grow.

Also, good to see another Dutchman on here. =)

Sort:  

I indeed think that is correct, but to the user it seems as the thing is stuck. That's why I tried to stress the "be patient". BTW: don't call a Fleming a Dutchman ;-) (not that I take offence)

Haha close enough.

I liked how you stressed the patience thing. It's important people know what they are getting into.

One day I'll learn about your story, dutch in NZ...

It's also possible to manually download the snapshot and restore it manually.

There is more detailed steps in the following guide: How to Sync the Gridcoin Wallet Using a Snapshot on Windows

Although a bit hidden, that is in the article ;-)

"Being clueless I ended up aborting the process and I followed the steps described here, which worked out fine."

I think I didn't really need it because I wasn't patient enough. But it worked fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58