GridCoin Mining Rig, Witness and Seed Node

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Noticed a pinned message on Slack, asking for GridCoin Rig. Here is mine.
Upper one (R710) is in charge for Steemit Seed Node, and the one above (R610) for GRC / Boinc work. @peppernrino feel free to use it for tumblr.

gridcoin-mining-rig.jpg

Then my son applied a little cable works, and the node started :D

darian2.jpg

Looking forward to fill the empty space :)

Have interesting rig to share? Please do.

Want to vote in support for my Witness work?

You can do it with unlocked cli_wallet by executing:

vote_for_witness "yourusername" "crt" true true
or by casting a Vote by entering crt at the bottom of the page here https://steemit.com/~witnesses

connected post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@crt/seed-is-up-started-my-witness-work

More GridCoin Rigs by other people? https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@peppernrino/submit-pictures-of-your-rigs-for-the-gridcoin-tumblr

Sort:  

Do you have a detailed guide for setting up a gridcoin rig?
I have loads of spare hardware and would be interested in participating.
I have used the guides for Steemit witness and seed nodes produced by @yehey to create those and have done well with them.

I am also running three monero rigs at home and an ethereum Classic rig with 2 Saphirre 290x GPUs and single 280 card.

I would imagine if you created a similar manual it would get like attention also. I would be interested in setting up a gridcoin rig or two if you want to do the setup guides or can point me to some I would be very grateful.

you can try boincos.

@libertyranger That's actually excellent Idea for next post.

I did one that's concentrated on home network security: https://steemit.com/technology/@crt/reasonable-home-network-security-setup-for-2018

I'll start making one on rig setup, and try to explain it both 'by the book' and how I did it. (Obviously, while I tried to keep most important part according to industry standards), this is not totally 'by the book'.

Since there is an interest, i'll break down and make a tutorial on how to make optimal rig, also mentioning some in depth technical details such as 802.3ad setups and similar.

Great Idea for my next article! Thanks friend!

I am looking forward to seeing this. I have several spare computers litterally laying around and would not mind putting a gridcoin config on one or tow of them. I might me setting up a ripple XRP node next week. Looks like there might be some XRP in doing that.

As for GridCoin, there are few approaches, I suggest starting with https://www.gridcoin.us/ guide. I am not doing anything so special that you can't do by just setting up a Boinc Miner on each computer, and the wallet on one of them. If you need help advertising CPID, just let me know. Basically you can count on me for any help in setup process.

As for XRP, I am not sure if there is any profit out of it. I do host one node, but that's for testing purpose as one of my clients is considering to start using blockchain for money transactions, and logically XRP is one of the platforms of consideration.

But if you need help with that as well, feel free to ask at anytime. You can do here, or DM me on twitter (Link in my introduction post).

Ohh, pretty lights... :)

Ignore me, Im just jealous.

hahah, you are jealous, I'm hardware maniac. Good enough that we have a beer sometime :)

Nice hardware setup.

Next time send your beer invite my way :)

I promised myself not to drink until I mine first block on steemit, so it's abstinence to blame for so much propaganda out of my account :) Then it would be worth to have one..or..."few" :)

Anyway, this beer project looks stale https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Beer
Did not tried 'compiling' it yet :)

Beer, now you are talking my language!

By the way, looks nice on the graph here :) Who would ever expect, a "few additional things".
https://steemit.com/technology/@crt/reasonable-home-network-security-setup-for-2018

The actual secret of top notch security is that hacker gets caught bound with the cables around the legs :)))

Ill have to take a read of that, thanks

I'm just joking, nothing too smart to read, but it looks nice on the graph unless you see this.

nice farm you got. like the half size rack

Yeah, it's 21U rack, the smaller one I managed to found with enough depth to Fit PowerEdge servers, and strong enough to hold the AEG UPS that's really heavy, but powers two main servers (700W minimum each) for about an hour. The rest is just placed on top of each other. When I find some free time, i'll consider getting a proper Rack Mount cases even for regular ATX boards, put them into rack, and make things look a little bit less messy.

I have spare racks for sale, but not really worth it if you are not in the Atlanta area
https://atlanta.craigslist.org/eat/sop/6488706306.html

Man, I am under real danger to get expelled from the house by my wife @mcertic along with my racks and equipment, as cables are all around the place :D

Joke aside, I am too far, but If it happens that anyone I work with needs them, and happens to be near Atlanta, i'll be sure to inform him with a link.

Thanks for letting me know @libertyranger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85