The math behind Recent Average Credit (RAC)

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow BOINCers and Gridcoin enthusiasts!

While working on a proposed version of the Gridcoin whitepaper, I got involved in trying to sort out exactly how Recent Average Credit (RAC) is calculated in the BOINC source code (the exact location in the source code is here). I was a bit confused at first. Since I'm actually a theoretical physicist by trade, I set out to make sense of RAC in my own terms. The explanation I came up with can be downloaded here.

I realize people have discussed RAC elsewhere (see links below), but I hope my explanations can shed some additional light. I know in particular this may be useful to the Gridcoin community. Since RAC translates directly into a researcher's magnitude, and thereby Gridcoin payouts, we want to make sure RAC is calculated in a way that, among other requirements, 1) accurately captures a researcher's average contributions on a project-by-project basis, and 2) is hard to unfairly manipulate to get more GRC. In the long run, one could ask whether RAC is even the best way of quantifying researcher contributions. At any rate, an understanding of how RAC works mathematically is important for making Gridcoin secure and fair.

Disclaimer: Physicists and mathematicians are notorious for making really dumb mistakes. I sincerely hope there are none in my write-up. Per the academic parlance, I at least hope my explanations are "correct in spirit." 

Finally, although I wrote the linked write-up myself, the basic scaffolding was taken from an early version of this document. In addition, a discussion similar to mine can be found here. The main differences are that my approach takes an alternative starting point, and is also more formal from a mathematical point of view. Lastly, there is some background information in this post

I welcome any thoughts/feedback. If you find any errors, feel free to point them out in the comments.


Sort:  

I swear I'll learn how to math some day soon. xD

I know it's pretty math-y, sorry..... :P

Well, at least the formulas are all there in one place -- hopefully people find that useful :)

On a connected note, the community will eventually have to agree on how to discuss RAC in the whitepaper. Probably the math should be toned down somewhat in favor of more intuitive explanations (or the nitty-gritty math should just be shoved to an appendix). But I'll let other people decide on that.

so far i think the idea is to have a technical whitepaper and a general audience white paper. the former will have all the math and the latter will be more intuitive

I agree that's a good idea!

Congratulations @caleb23! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @caleb23! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @caleb23! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44