You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am Very Disappointed by the Upcoming V8 Removal of the Magnitude Component of the Gridcoin Staking Weight

in #gridcoin7 years ago

It costs more to stake frequently now than it would with V8. It is much cheaper to purchase GRC than it is to purchase the hardware required for a decent mag.

Sort:  

I agree. If your sole aim is to increase stake weight, that will become cheaper in V8.

I am mainly taking the angle of the miners that have existing hardware though.

Does that seem to be the consensus now? I'm having issues keeping up with disparate opinions in multiple places, so I am genuinely asking if that is being born out?

He is right. If your sole aim is to increase stake weight (starting from nothing - no hardware or GRC), that will become cheaper in V8.

I am mainly taking the angle of the miners that have existing hardware though. This is what I feel GRC and BOINC target - people who have idle hardware lying around already. They get hit by this change.

Yup, that is what I though, oh and color me affected. I mean for goodness sake, have you checked out the prices / availability of gpu's lately. If you count power, hardware, etc., no reasonable person is buying "turn your spare cpu cycles into SCIENCE!" That was great two years ago, when I didn't junk old hardware, GRC was that hardwares last hope of surviving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67