You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Response to @appliepiie's Post "Long Term Goal of Gridcoin"

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Great Reply! I have a question and some thoughts regarding the following paragraph:

If you believe in the value of accessible data processing, you believe in Gridcoin, and that is where it gets its value. If you believe in the value of data processing for those able to pay, you believe in Golem, SONM, or iEx.

Do you think, that Gridcoin should turn into something where the ones able to pay the most get all the computing power? I am not sure u meant it this way, however, I still want to add my thoughts about it:

In my opinion, it is part of the beauty of Gridcoin that one can mine the currency for researching projects that may not yield the most value in the end of the day. If the purpose of Gridcoin turned solely into selling processing power, the system would be taken over by large corporation as soon as they discover it and all the fun projects would be gone or at least would not get the computational power that they deserve.

I imagined some sort of a payed list of projects for which there would be only the Gridcoin rain the institution provides and a clear distinction to the projects that mine Gridcoin. This would guarantee equality in terms of value generated through the projects, so that a project that is purely scientific could still compete with the rather profitable projects that could appear.

This would mean, that company X rains a certain amount Y Gridcoins every day on all the hosts running their project. People would swarm to this project until the mining of Gridcoins would become more profitable again, since there are too many people to share the rain of X with.

I just really like the idea of searching for extraterrestrial life, soling mathematical problems (yes, they may even be valuable actually) or doing other scientific computation without the task provider making a huge amount of money out of it. However, I also know my greed. If someone starts paying me 30 times the amount I get out of mining, I surely switch to their project.

Sort:  

I mean to say that I do not support rented computing. This means that I think that the volunteer structure of BOINC is beautiful. You should not have to pay to gain access to the Gridcoin/BOINC super computer. We are in agreement on this = ). Our competitors are the ones which operate on a rent-based business model.

Our differences are mostly in where we think crypto will be in the short term -- i see an inevitable wave of adoption due to blockchain utility while you see difficulties with adoption due to technical barriers. Both very valid and supported perspectives.

I think you should check out @cm-steem's "Project Rain" idea. There are a few posts floating around on steemit. Is this something like what you're talking about?

Project rain posts here, here, and here. There are a few others but I can't find them ATM. @cm-steem. Could what @applepiie is proposing be done with your project rain?

People seem to be entirely unaware that all the functionality for anyone to 'buy' compute on the Gridcoin blockchain with GRC is already implemented.

I could go and rain my entire balance onto any project of my choosing right now - right from the wallet client.

I am aware of that, however, it is not done as of now (or at least not that I know of). My idea was partially, that it might be a good idea on focusing to advertise this opportunity.
Furthermore, I am concerned, that just letting everyone rain as much as they want on a project may cause too much imbalance between the projects. This might lead to projects that are not yielding a lot of financial gain, like searching aliens, to suffer a lot.

it definitely holds the potential to create imbalance in the BOINC project economy. something to be considered. if it becomes an issue it would have to be regulated somehow, either through code or law. preferably code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64