Are you looking for some special stories? Here, you will hear from Greenland!

in #greenland5 years ago

Insuk in Qaanaaq.jpg

Hello!!

My name is Kim Insuk (김인숙) and I live in Greenland :)

In Korea, family name comes first, so 'Kim' is my family name and 'Insuk' is my first name.

So I am sure that you already realised that I am Korean!

Yes, I was born and raised in Seoul, South Korea and I have been staying here in Greenland since August 2015!

So now you might wonder why I am here in Greenland and how I came here ;)

I will tell you from now on.

In 2010, I was having a gap year in Japan spending working holiday. In Korea, it is very common to have a gap year while taking bachelor's degree. After working holiday, I wanted to go somewhere, however I had no idea where to go. So I just spread the world map and started to look through countries. While reading the world map, I found a big icy island on the top of the map. It was written 'Greenland' but it was white.

23.png

Even world geography class in my high school, we did not learn about Greenland properly. In addition, Greenland is very often omitted from the world map. It is a very shame that in Asia, we often ignore the largest island in the world. Yeap, I know how it could happen.

I was so curious about this land so I started to search this big white island on the internet by myself and I found various images of Greenland. Most of pictures included colourful houses with icebergs background. It was so fascinating and attractive. Right after that, I just really wanted to see Greenland in person. I just couldn't wait to meet them!

So I just left Greenland!! When I wanna do something, I do not think that much. I just do it!

34.png

In 2010, eventually I visited seven towns in Greenland (Narsarsuaq, Qassiarsuk, Narsaq, Nanortalik, Qaqortoq, Nuuk, Ilulissat) alone and I had a really really great time. I met a lot of people with different backgrounds at restaurants, souvenir shops, hostels even on the street.

Sometimes I met a really unexpected event. It was a rainy day in Nanortalik. Surprisingly, a lady just invited me from the window while I was walking on the street. It never happens in South Korea - invite a stranger from the window!! It turned out that day was an important day which was the first day of school. In the house, there were so many people and some were with Greenlandic national costume. I was offered cakes and coffee. Later I knew that it is Kaffemik which a home party in Greenland. One of the very Greenlandic culture!

45.png

I just totally fell in love with Greenland very soon because it was so different from where I come from. I loved this unique culture and of course, also nice and kind people.

After my visit to Greenland, I started to study about Greenland at a graduate school in London. As a result, I received my master's degree in Cultural Heritage Studies, Archaeology and I wrote Greenland's cultural heritage / natural heritage affected by climate change as my master's thesis.

After that, I went back to Korea and I got a job however it was not related to Greenland at all. I couldn't forget about Greenland. So I decided to leave for Greenland. It was 2015. Since then, I have been staying in Nuuk, Greenland. Currently I am finalising my 2nd master's thesis in West Nordic Studies at the Social Science Department, Ilisimatusarfik (University of Greenland). I am also a freelance writer and a photographer. My first book which is about Greenland with full of my stories will be published soon this fall 2019.

Since then, I had a lot of good friends in Greenland not only Greenlandic friends but also foreign people all over the world. You will be surprised if you found out how many various people from different countries are staying in Greenland. Also I got a lot of great memories in Greenland and still I believe that those good memories keep filling in my heart. Especially in 2017, I had a great opportunity to travel from South to North Greenland again.

What images do you have about Greenland?

Icebergs? Snow? Polarbears? Cold weather? Climate change?

Let me tell you my adventure in Greenland from now on ;)

Stay tuned!

56.png
Me in Qaanaaq, North Greenland 2017

67.png
Qassiarsuk, South Greenland 2017

78.png
Narsaq, South Greenland 2017

Sort:  

반갑습니당~💙

from Seoul to Greenland ♬

Posted using Partiko Android

곰돌이가 @bluengel님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.017을 보팅해서 $0.006을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 6004번 $65.827을 보팅해서 $76.948을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

고마운 곰도뤼~💙

Posted using Partiko Android

반갑습니다 ㅎ ^^

행복한 💙 오늘 보내셔용~^^

Posted using Partiko Android

소개글 대충 읽으니(영어가 짧아서 한참 더듬거리며) 그린랜드에 가보고 싶은 생각이 굴뚝 같네요. ㅎㅎ
한국의 1월이나 2월은 그곳도 겨울인가요?

안녕하세요! 최근에 스팀잇을 알게 되었는데 한국 커뮤니티가 크다는 이야기를 첫 글 쓴 다음에 알게 되었어요 ㅎ 앞으로는 한글로도 올릴게요! 넵! 여기는 보통 9월부터 5월까지 겨울이예요!ㅎ 1, 2월 특히 3월은 완전 겨울입니다!ㅎ

그렇군요. 가보려면 7,8월이 낫겠군요.

Posted using Partiko Android

맞아요 7, 8월이 그린란드 여행 성수기예요. 근데 그 때 오시면 오로라라든지 개썰매라든지 뭔가.. 그린란드스러운 걸 즐기기 조금 어려워요. 8월 말이나 9월 정도면 아주 춥지도 않고 오로라도 보실 수 있을 거예요 ㅎ

암튼 엄청 멋지신 분이네요. 하고싶은대로 공부하고, 가고싶은 나라 가시고. 완전 zzan 입니다. ㅎㅎ
zzan 들어오셔서 멋진 그린랜드 살이 포스팅 해주세요. 많은 분들이 좋아하실 겁니다. ㅎㅎ
(상업성.. 아니에요. 보팅을 많이 받으시라고 안내해요. ㅋㅎ)

Posted using Partiko Android

곰돌이가 @dozam님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.017을 보팅해서 $0.006을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 6010번 $65.885을 보팅해서 $77.028을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

반갑습니다.
그린란드에 사시네요.

Posted using Partiko Android

네! 그린란드에 살아요 ㅎㅎ

곰돌이가 @ldsklee님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.017을 보팅해서 $0.006을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 6012번 $65.912을 보팅해서 $77.047을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

엇 그린란드 사시면... 뵐 기회가 있었겠네요 ㅠㅠ 제가 2016년에 방문했었는데요 ㅎㅎ 정말 너무 좋았어요.

제가 2016년 상반기에는 교환학생이다 인턴쉽이다 해서 좀 다른 곳을 왔다갔다 했었어요 :) 그리고 여름 이후부터는 1년간 쭉 있었어요 ㅎ 르바님 유투브 본 적있어요 ㅎㅎ

앗 그러시군요 ㅎㅎㅎ
입고 계신 그린란드 전통의상이 인상적입니다 ㅎㅎ 제가 일루리샤트에서 봤던 전통의상이네요 ㅎㅎ

고맙습니다 ㅎㅎ 네 일룰리셋에서도 같은 모양의 전통의상을 입어요 ㅎ 동그린란드와 극북그린란드 전통의상은 조금 다르지만요 ^^

아하 지역별로 다른 것이었군요!

우와...!!!

그린란드이네요

왠지 미지에 가까운곳이고

청정구역이라 사는곳이 좋네요

맞아요! 살고 있지만 아직도 참 미지의 세계 같아요 ㅎ 정말 청정하구요 ㅎㅎ

그린란드도 멋진곳이네요

Posted using Partiko Android

넵 정말 멋진 곳이예요 ㅎ 처음 방문하고 푹 빠져 아예 살게 되었습니다 ^^

반갑습니다. Greenland에 계시는군요.

앞으로 greenland 소식과 다양한 포스팅 기대할께요~

고맙습니다 ㅎ 스팀잇 이제 시작했습니다 ㅎ 앞으로도 소식 많이 들려드릴게요 ㅎ

우와 고맙습니다!ㅎ 오늘 처음 스팀잇 시작했어요 ㅎ 잘 부탁드려요 ㅎㅎ

위 프로젝트에 신청하시면 앞으로 1달간 보팅지원을 받게 되십니다. 신청을 도와드릴까요?

뭔가 기본적으로 알아야 할 것들이 있을 것 같은 스팀잇입니다 ㅎ 저는 정말 몇 시간 전부터 시작했는데 신청이 가능한가요 ^^

네 물론입니다!

고맙습니다!ㅎ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15