Explore With Me: Olympus Mountain - The Gods' Residence

in #greektrail7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! As you might know, I come from Greece, a magnificent country with unique nature beauty. Would you like me to show you around my little paradise spots where I love to get lost every now and then? Keep scrolling down...

First I'll give you an idea of where we're going. We're visiting some of the lakes and rivers of Olympus mountain, in ancient mythology Olympus was believed to be the house of the twelve gods. And as our well-informed friend, wikipedia.org says: "Olympus is the highest mountain in Greece. It is located in the Olympus Range on the border between Thessaly and Macedonia, between the regional units of Pieria and Larissa, about 80 km (50 mi) southwest from Thessaloniki. Mount Olympus has 52 peaks, deep gorges, and exceptional biodiversity. The highest peak Mytikas, meaning "nose", rises to 2,918 metres (9,573 ft). It is one of the highest peaks in Europe in terms of topographic prominence."

Enough with the geography blah blah, I'm not going to bore you with details, I just want to show you the marvels I get to see every summer.
20160807_164805.jpg

Our first stop are the lakes of Orlia gorge. On its journey to the sea, the river forms small waterfalls and rock pools, ideal for a cool (some might say cold) dive to get summer heat off. Because they are easily accessible by car, those spots get too crowded, especially during the weekends.

This is the first pool of our trip, the small one.
IMG_20170709_130616.jpg

And here is the second and bigger one.
image-0.02.01.4feb65a6f147d7755c1c13a49437c67521bb9a82946376ce0a2ad8a9ec80a2da-V.jpg

20160807_160740.jpg

Leaving those pools, we take a hiking track and start on a one-hour hike to get to the tallest waterfall on the mountain, the waterfall of the Red Rock. A magnificent view with the coldest waters I've ever swum in, not recommended for the ones who can't stand water temperatures below 15C.
IMG_20170730_143143.jpg

IMG_20170730_150235.jpg

And for those who are interested, I must inform you that you can try out several extreme activities on our little paradise mountain. Hiking, kayaking and climbing excursions are organised throughout the week and summer is the best season to do it!
I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did. I'll prepare another one on a different exploration trip. We, Greeks, live in blessed country. It would be a shame for foreigners not to see what we see everyday around us.

20160807_164843.jpg

Thank you for stopping by and checking this short post! It's always a pleasure sharing nature's wonders with others.
You can also check my blog, @ruth-girl, there are plenty more articles on miracles of mother earth for nature lovers.
Stay tuned, for more trips are coming on this #greekcountrysidetour!!

And for those of you who want to support the Greek community on Steemit follow the @greek-trail! Lots of remarkable people are waiting to be discovered by you there!

Until my next post,
Steem on, people and keep smiling!!

Sort:  

The mountain of the gods. One of the best places to visit in Greece :)

My beloved Olympos Mt. NIce post!
Tip!

Thank you!! It is indeed a wonderful place! Too bad it gets more crowded every year :(

This looks like polilimnio close to kalamata! Have you ever been? My favorite place on Earth.

Never been there, but I'll put it on my travel-list if it's as beautiful as Olympus ;)

Awesome looking waterfalls, i just made a similar post of some waterfalls in northern Australia if you care to have look....i would love too see the ones in your country...amazing!

I just checked your post! That place was absolutely beautiful! I'll follow you for more doses of the australian countryside :)

Congratulations @ruth-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

amading nature in ur country.. hope u also visit my country and my nature post also

Thank you! I hope one day I'll visit your country too!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58