Sort:  

Yes, in fact, daffodils are in the amaryllis family, which I wasn't aware of until you asked, so thanks for that!

And evidently they are hardly through Zone 7, my hardiness zone, so perhaps I can stop coddling them inside and simply plant them out, as I did in Florida.

As for how to cook taro, the usual instructions are to boil in water for 15 minutes, drain, cool and peel the roots, and either serve then with butter, or flatten with your hand and brown in oil or butter before serving.

To cook taro leaves, typically you boil in water for fifteen minutes, drain, then add coconut cream, simmer for another fifteen minutes until tender, and then serve.

Alternately, you can cook the taro into poi, the traditional Hawai'ian dish, which is how I became familiar with it. Boil the roots without peeling until they can be easily pierced with a fork. Drain, cool and peel the roots, then process in a food processor until smooth.

This is one finger poi. Adding more water will give you three finger poi.

An optional step is to slowly pour a layer of cool water on top of the poi, and allow it to rest in a cool room for a couple of days, which allows it to ferment, and imparts a sour taste that many people prefer.

Mind you, I've yet to grow or cook taro, though I've had it cooked for me a few times. Looking forward to doing so.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow thanks for those instructions! I asked because we have taro chips in the Philippines, same with sweet potato chips.

You're welcome re:amaryllis.
Am not sure if we have those amaryllis here as i can remember the yellow ones we have before, they have similar stalks.
If they're like daffodils...yeah stop coddling them lols

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome! Hope they help.

Yeah, I love sweet potato chips too, and sweet potato fries . . . hoping we have a really good crop this year, as we're trying Stokes purple for the first time, and I'm building up my supply of sweet potato slips.

Have a great week and thanks again for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85