You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Red Amaryllis - Day 247 - Haiku - My Entry for the “Natural Medicine Love it Up” Contest

in #gratitudelog5 years ago

I was in California and ate the smooth-skinned chayote a lot. It is so delicious and versatile. I never saw the spiny one either. I hope it is just as good.

You sure got lot of mileage out of a haiku post! I have been looking for poetry for freewrite and saw your title. I completely agree with your "living ray of hope" imagery. I remember these flowers from my time in the cold.

Good luck with all your starters and gardening to come. I am not in a position to be planting now and watch others doing it with longing. My mom always planted horseradish, but I do not think it was for the protective properties. She just made a great sauce out of it and also pickled it. Yum. Good memories :)

Sort:  

Yeah, I grew up in the L.A. area, and that's where I was living the first time I grew chayote. I've also grown it in Florida, but never (so far) in Tennessee. But I will be soon! ;-)

Haiku I've loved sine childhood, and early on in my Steemit journey I joined in with @brokemancode's 30 Day Haiku Challenge, and just kept basing most of my posts on haiku. My brain just loves the 5-7-5 pattern.

And yes, I'm primarily growing horseradish to eat, but at the same time, lots of people, especially in permaculture circles, swear by horseradish as giving all sorts of protection for the trees and shrubs it is planted with, up to and including birds leaving cherries and other small fruit alone when grown with horseradish at their base.

It seemed to me to be at least worth a try to see if horseradish would confer some immunity to my struggling chestnut trees, as they are known to be antifungal, but time will tell. At the very least, we should get a fair amount of horseradish out of the deal. ;-)

Haha! I remember big harvests of the stuff from my mom. When it go good it goes crazy! I will be really interested to see how this year turns out for you.

I did not know about the ant-fungal properties. That is a plus for me and my health issues. thank you for the tip :)

That's one of the most amazing things about horseradish, is that it is antimicrobial, antiviral and antifungal, all in one.

As are honey, garlic, turmeric and ginger, not to mention apple cider vinegar, which is why I included all of the above when I made my fire cider. And it explains why fire cider has always been so amazing at boosting the immune system and restoring health.

This time I'll include black seed (Nigella sativa), which shares those properties as well.

But for a quicker fix, that you can use without having to wait for weeks or months, mix equal parts raw unfiltered honey and apple cider vinegar, say a cup of each, and add 12 - 16 cloves of raw garlic, peeled, then blend together in a blender until the garlic is minced so finely as to become effectively part of the liquid.

Ideally, you want to let it age for at least a few days before using, to allow the flavors to meld, but you can use it immediately in a pinch. My advice is to stir a spoonful into a glass of water or juice.

Later, after it has aged, you can take it straight if you prefer, or even use it as the basis of a really outstanding salad dressing. In any case, always shake well before using, to make sure you're getting the most benefit possible.

The combination is even said to be great at eliminating candidiasis, though it isn't an overnight fix, but it's gentler than many of the chemical methods out there.

Here's you your greatly improved health! ;-)

Oh my goodness. Thank you for this great info, @crescendoofpeace. I am late to my replies and so glad to see this. Copying into my health folder now.

I have made something similar to your fire cider in the past and used it for salad dressing too. That is a wonderful flavor for medicine and I am so glad you reminded me!

You're welcome!

It's always my pleasure to share knowledge, and so often it is as you say . . . we already know, we simply need reminding.

And yes, fire cider is delicious when made properly, and I'll take that over antibiotics any day.

MRSA is no match for nature's bounty. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82