Things I am Grateful for in 2017

in #gratitude7 years ago

I was without my laptop for the last 5 days and could not use Steemit properly from phone so I felt really lost without Steemit when I wanted to use it. I got my laptop yesterday and felt alive again. Although I did create a blogpost from my phone about 30 hours ago, it wasn’t as fun as it is to post using my laptop. So when I did not have my laptop and wasn’t blogging properly, I was reading the posts of many different people on Steemit. It was my way of staying connected to the forum even if I could not actively participate in stuff.

So on Wednesday night, I did a lot of reading and had a great time going through the many posts of @zord189. I came across his work after joining #Steemitbloggers and knew that he is a great artist and an animator, but when I read a lot of his blogs, I found that he was extremely grateful and content too. His blogposts inspired me a lot and encouraged me to be more generous and compassionate to others. A big shout out to you @zord189 for that. One of his posts that I loved a lot in particular was about things he was grateful for in 2017. I am a big believer in nurturing gratitude and try to be as thankful for my life as I can. His post inspired me to do a similar post and be thankful for the many things I feel grateful for in the year that just passed away. So today I’ll be sharing with you all the many things I am extremely grateful for in 2017.


grateful1.jpg

Image Source


Being Able to Provide for My Family

This is one thing I will forever be grateful for to my Allah. He gave me the strength, ability and power to become an earning hand for my family and provided me with the abilities to bring home a decent amount of income. Often, when I see people resting more than working, I do find myself thinking ‘How great it would be if I didn’t have to work that much’ and this one thought often makes me support a complaining attitude. In the past year, I slowly trained myself to let go of that attitude and replace it with a more positive one that now makes me think that I am lucky enough to be able to earn and provide for myself and my family because that puts me in a position of giving and honestly, nothing is better than giving.


o-GRATITUDE-facebook.jpg

Image Source

Moving to a Better Home

In 2017, my husband, son and I moved to a better house for which we all are extremely thankful. We are still living in a rented house, but this one is more spacious and better as compared to the previous one. Despite being thankful for having a better house, I never label my previous home as a bad one because even if it wasn’t the place we wanted to live in, it still gave us shelter and a roof over our heads and I’ll be forever thankful to Allah for that too.

Having a Better Bond with My Husband and Son
In 2017, I trained myself to become more patient, calmer and mindful of the present which improved my bond with my husband and son. My husband and I slowly overcame a lot of our inter-personal conflicts and fell more in love with one another. And my son and I became better friends than ever and he loves mommy more than before now. I have become more understanding of him and when he is having a temper problem, instead of losing my calm or instructing him to calm down instantly, I let him vent out his frustrations because he is only 4 and does not know how to express himself properly through dialogue every time. This change helped him acknowledge his emotions easily and helped him calm down quickly too because when nobody tells him to stop crying this instant, he is able to recognize and understand what’s going inside him and calm down on his own and quicker than before too. So I am incredibly grateful for that.

Joining Steemit

I recently wrote a detailed post on how Steemit changed my life so I won’t go into those details again, but yeah I would like to express my genuine gratitude for joining Steemit again because it has changed my life for the better. And I know there may come a time when the price of SBD and Steem may go down, but that’s okay, I am not here just for the money. The people here make Steemit what it is for me so even if less or no money is coming out of it, that’s fine because I am here to stay here for a long, long time to come. 

Making Friends and For Gathering the Courage to Meet Strangers

Different stories of strangers becoming friends on Steemit and meeting each other gave me the courage to do the same so when I became friends with @beingnaveed and @ghulammujtaba on Steemit, we decided to meet in person too. Even though I was a bit scared and apprehensive of this move because I had never met someone in person whom I met online, I went along with it and later on, I was so proud of myself for doing that because both of them turned out to be complete gentlemen and hopefully, the three of us will stay friends for life. So I am thankful for this past year for giving me the strength to overcome my fears and make great friends.

Seeing My Son Become More Independent and Confident

22728741_383366555413018_6090500260332105834_n.jpg

In August, 2017, I enrolled my son in a school. The transition from learning from home and staying in his little nest all the time to going to a completely new environment was a difficult for him, but with time, he became more settled in his school and now he loves it. This transition has also made him more independent and confident, and now I see him taking many of his little decisions on his own which I absolutely love.

Also, kudos to his class teacher for teaching him the ‘Happy-Sad’ method to express his anger, sadness and joy. Whenever he is sad with us on something, he does not shout or complain, but tells us that he is sad and if we feel upset with him, we tell him the same and the moment, he figures out we are sad with him, he tries to resolve the matter. This method has taught us to peacefully handle our issues and express ourselves so I am thankful for that too.

Also, I am extremely grateful to Allah for blessing me with Faateh because he is honestly a gem of a boy. He is so compassionate, considerate, sweet and lovely that I don’t have enough appropriate words to describe his goodness. He is just amazing and with every breath that I take, I am honestly thankful to Allah for him. Love you Faateh baby. hugs and kisses and more sloppy kisses

Being Able to Spend Great Time with Family

My sister and brother in law are visiting us nowadays. One of my 2 sisters is settled in Connecticut, U.S. with her husband and they are here these days. They last visited us about 2 years back and this time, they were here for 3 weeks. They leave tomorrow so I am a little sad, but that’s okay. They are the reason I am seen less on Steemit and blog less than usual nowadays because I am busy spending lots of quality time with them.

This year, when I found out that they would visit us, I was eager to see them but I also wanted to spend quality time with them without worrying about earning. I also wanted to take them to places and treat them as much as possible. And to do all of that, I needed money. Since, I had enrolled him in school, I wasn’t able to save as much as I did previously. In one of the posts I wrote this year about being eliminated from a contest I joined started by @papa-pepper, I mentioned how sad I was because I felt I lost a good amount of prize money. I wanted that amount to spend lots of great time with my sister. However, after that, I was positive and hopeful for great times again and then the price of SBD rose and I was able to save money otherwise too. With that money, I had a great vacation with my family and Faateh and I enjoyed a lot, and my husband joined us at times too.

I am extremely grateful for not losing hope and for staying positive and moving forward with an optimistic attitude because that brought great things my way. My siblings, mother, son and I had a fantastic time during these past 3 weeks and I’ll do a post on the fun things we did during this time too. I am extremely thankful for that and am blessed to have a great family.

These are the major things I feel grateful for in 2017. What are the things you feel blessed about? Share your views with me please; would be happy to read them.

Thank you once again for taking out the time and being patient to read this post.

Love and light for you,

Sharoon.


If you enjoyed this post, you may also like the following:

https://steemit.com/untalented-adjustments/@sharoonyasir/untalented-adjustments-i-made-after-i-found-steemit-a-win-win-contest-by-surpassingoos-ca34cd4bb42a6

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@sharoonyasir/day-175-steemiteducation-homework-for-christmas-and-new-year

https://steemit.com/non-judgemental/@sharoonyasir/how-i-let-go-of-judgments-a-dialogue-between-my-judgmental-and-more-accepting-minds


I am a part of some wonderful communities that helped me a lot in progressing on Steemit:

@ecotrain which is full of inspirational people


ecotrain.png

#thealliance

thealliance_ladies_1.png

#steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Welcome back. Happy New year.

So one of the investments you should consider in 2018 is a second laptop for redundancy, since you are a professional writer and your laptop is your primary tool.
My older laptop has not been working for a while now and I´m always thinking about buying another one to replace it, but since the newer one is quite a good one, I hope it will last me a few more years, and I could get a new one pretty quick if I needed too,
and I am not a professional writer. 😉
But let me tell you one thing, from lay writer to professional writer:
Years don´t pass away, they just pass, otherwise they would be dead. 😎
All the best for 2018, may your wildest dreams come true!
Thik thak!

I had a spare laptop but it needs some fixing too and id have gotten a new laptop had my sister not visited me this time of the year. Thank you so much for the wishes and kind words. :D

Your post has given me hope......@sharoonyasir.

That's wonderful. Just keep believing in yourself and the power of the universe to do you good.

Being grateful for 2017 will surely make 2018 great InshaAllah :)

Stay passionate, stay blessed !

Absolutely. Thanks for stopping by :)

pleasure :)

HOW DID I MISS THIS!!!! Steemit should seriously notify me if someone tagged me.... but that aside. Wanna say thank you for those kinds words. I appreciate it a lot :) Upvoted and resteemed

The notification system of Steemit is quite poor too. When a fellow Steemian tagged me to do the seven day bnw challenge, I didn't get notified either. Thank you for being here and being so generous and thanks a lot for the resteem and upvote :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63