Gratitude Day 7 and Fasting Day 4 – moving off the water to other liquids

in #gratitude6 years ago

Today I’ve added in some chicken bone broth, which has been very enjoyable. It’s still essentially a fast as the calories are negligible, but it’s letting my digestive system know that its rest is over and food is on the way.

I slept well, but still felt a bit tired this morning. I started the day with a large glass of water and then had a mug of bone broth before going out for my walk. I didn’t feel very energetic but still walked for about 20 minutes, then went to the health food store for some supplies.

gratitude-day7.jpg

By the end of the day, I will have had 6 mugs of broth and over 2 litres of water. I’ve been fine most of the day, with enough energy for what I’ve needed to do and not too hungry. I couldn’t have done anything too vigorous but did spend quite a bit of time on my arthritis class exercises.

But I will be glad to have some food tomorrow. This has been long enough on just liquids. Tomorrow I will break the fast properly with adding some eggs. Earlier in the day, I’ll have them beaten up in some broth, and then have a couple soft boiled later in the day. I’m betting that never will eggs have tasted so good.

What I’ve been grateful for today

I’m very appreciative of the fact that we have a good organic store only five minutes walk away. They stock a good quality brand of NZ made bone broth, which I bought 2 packs of today, so didn’t have to make myself, yay! They have all sorts of goodies that we wouldn’t be able to get anywhere else locally. The usual organic fruits, vegetables, meats, fridge items, nuts and seeds, etc. A variety of gluten free and paleo breads and other foods. Fresh (not pasteurised) sauerkraut, kombucha, goats milk, goat and sometimes buffalo yoghurt, coconut yoghurt. They stock a wide range of Fair Trade products. I’m sure that there are other things I’ve forgotten, but suffice to say, we shop there a lot. We used to have to go into the city to shop there, so were thrilled when they opened a Kilbirnie store a few years ago.

cso.jpg
Image Source

Thanks for reading.

Images by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

good job.thanks sister

Thanks for reading.

Eating after a fast is the best, especially a nice breakfast of eggs with beans and rice. I used to live in Costa Rica, that was the typical breakfast there, so good and healthy! And kept you full too, so less mid morning snacking lol

That does sound yum. I like beans and rice, but sadly for me, they are not healthy as I don't digest carbs well. I did a post about some genetic testing that I had done, which confirmed what I've known for a long time https://steemit.com/health/@kiwideb/my-dna-test-results-are-in-can-i-eat-carbs-or-not

Are you still on water?

3 and a 1/2 days on just water. Half water, half broth today.

Seems tough dieting plan good wishes

great one :) i like it

Good to know.

its nice recipe i shoud try @kiwideb

If you mean you want to try water fasting, read my other posts about it first!

There is nothing yummier than any food, when you haven't had any for a while, enjoy!

I have been. Even a simple soup of broth, broccoli, lemon juice and salt is tasting delicious.

yes! im surrounded by vegetarians and vegans and raw foodists, but something deep insde me says paleo! if we did it for 100s of thousands of years before we started messing up the world then maybe its ok! thanks for your blogs, will follow u :-)

There's certainly a place for raw food, and vegetarian dishes. But I worry for people who are vegan, because it's an extreme lifestyle and not suitable for everybody. We each have to do what is right for us, and not let anyone else's opinion sway us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68