Gratitude Day 5 and Water Fast Day 2

in #gratitude7 years ago (edited)

Keeping it short and sweet today. I’ll start with the water fasting.

The day started well. I slept ok, and went for a walk first thing this morning, before it got too hot (or wet, as it turned out). I drank nearly 3.5 litres yesterday and have got to nearly 3 litres so far today.

gratitude-day5.jpg

But I feel less energetic today. I’ve needed to use the hand mudra for hunger (more about that below) a lot more, and several times through the afternoon I’ve really felt like eating. But I keep muscle testing myself and getting that I need to keep going till Sunday morning, so I’m keeping going. So far anyway.

@sift666 says I have keto breath, so it does seem I’ve gone into ketosis. He thinks I’m a mess, and although he hasn’t said so, I think he’d be pleased if I stopped. From the inside, I feel quite tired and a bit hungry, and haven’t got what it takes to write a lot today. But I don’t feel weak or spacey, so I think I’m ok to keep going for a while.

The hand mudra

This comes from yoga and I found out about them when I was fairly new to Steemit in this post by @stranger27.

Read the post for more info, but in a nutshell, I hold this hand pose for a while and it seems to stop the hunger.


image credit

On the up side

Although I’ve had a few lie downs today, I have also done a couple of fairly vigorous things. I’ve got a new monitor, which we spent some time setting up. The tiring part of that was sorting out a lot of cables, replacing my speakers, getting rid of some cables connecting my PC to a stereo amp, and moving the stereo off my desk. Actually it doesn’t sound that hard, but it involved a lot of crawling about under my desk in the heat, and getting up and down. Oh god, it still doesn’t sound very vigorous.

Anyway, I maintain that the walk and the PC set up is why I feel tired right now, not the fasting. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

chalkboard.jpg

Gratitude

Like I said, short and sweet. Today I’m grateful that:

• I have a partner who is concerned with my welfare
• I have a new, much bigger monitor
• It’s Friday and nearly the weekend. We don’t work in our online business on Fridays, so I could lie down whenever I wanted to
• It cooled down a little
• It’s rained a lot today, which the garden will be really happy about
• I’m past the halfway point on the fast and hopefully tomorrow will be easier

Thanks for reading and let’s see what tomorrow brings

Photos by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

Legend...u not the pie eater LOL

No, I'm still the water drinker. Looking forward to tomorrow morning!

Nice to connect, so many people on Steemit doing things to better themselves and help other people better themselves too. And way less arguing than Facebook! lol Found you by the gratitude tag, I'm a recovering alcoholic so gratitude is a big part of my daily way to stay focused on good things :)

Yes, it's a way different vibe than FB. I had a quite a tough year last year, so this is one way to make sure I change things around this year. I've just been and checked out some of your art - I especially like your bright and colourful works.

I can relate, last year I lost a friend to alcohol. Not a good way to start a year.. I also saw my art business go from thriving to barely surviving in large part because my organic reach on FB went down to almost nothing, and paid ads weren't much better. Trying to outsmart algorithms and the resentment were driving me crazy! Finding and actually learning how to use Steemit is like a nice breath of fresh air to start 2018 on a positive note, and hopefully generate some income to keep my art career going full time too! :)

That was a tough year. With the improved price of Steem, there's a good chance that you can get better income from here.

Hi Deb! Happy New Year!! I’ve just picked up that you’re fasting, see you said muscle testing, what do you mean and how long will you have done it for total? Sending energy your way ✨

Hi Daisy! Good to see you. I've been fasting nearly 48 hours now, and plan to keep going another 36. Just a short 3.5 day fast for a bit of a reset for the new year. I'm a kinesiologist, which involves muscle testing my clients to get information. For example, I might test them for different foods to see which ones they have a bad (usually weakening) reaction to. I also use it myself, and self test.

You inspired me to eat all the food and now I'm so full I want to go on a water fast.

No, not really...

There you go, eating all the pies again...

Nice post! I follow you =)

Watch the ketones on this diet. It can make you really sick. If you don'yfeel well soon, I'd advise to stop.

Thanks for your concern, but I've been fine today. I don't think the ketones are what cause the problem. They are actually really good food for the body,especially the brain. I agree that water fasting isn't healthy for more than a few days, and keto diets are not good long term. But I think it's more due to the stress it can cause to some organs, like the liver and the adrenal glands. Not much more than 12 hours (most of that sleeping) and I move onto broth.

Glad you are feeling better. You making your own broth?

No. Today I'm using a NZ made fresh broth from the organic store. Tomorrow I'll move onto an organic dehydrated broth that come from Australia. I have made broth in the past, and probably will again. But I figured I'd do it the easy way this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56