#gratefulvibes Day 28 - I am grateful for a fun trip to the Fireside Theater in Ft. Atkinson, WI

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago

Sunday, I was thankful for a fun trip to the Fireside Theater in Ft. Atkinson, WI.


I host a bus trip 2 or 3 times a year to the dinner theater that is 2 1/2 hours from our home town. The Christmas trip is usually the most highly attended. This year we had 43 people on the bus to the Fireside to see Miracle on 34th Street the musical.


Unlike some dinner theaters that I have worked at or attended the theater is separate from the restaurant. Therefore they can have overlapping seatings with a show going on from 1:15 - 3:45 p.m. and another seating of dinner that begins eating at 3 p.m. and sees the show at 5 p.m.


The food is always wonderful. There is a signature menu for each show and the Miracle on 34th Street began with an appetizer of cream of shiitake mushroom soup served with freshly baked bread from their Artisan Bakery. The entree of chicken piccata was lightly breaded and sauteed to a golden brown, resting on a veloute lemon cream sauce and it was garnished with caper buds and parsley. The entree was complimented by garlic Parmesan orzo and roasted fresh vegetables.


The delightful meal was finished off with a dessert of red velvet cake served with homemade gingerbread ice cream. Yum! I almost forgot to take a picture!


There is no picture taking in the theater during the performance but here is our group gathering in our seats. It is a theater in the round with 652 seats and not a bad one in the bunch. In the 2017 season we also saw Mamma Mia and South Pacific. If you are ever in central Wisconsin you should take in a show!

Sort:  

I've attended many shows here with @wrladyhawk. The food is fabulous, the shows are very entertaining, making for a wonderful experience. Two thumbs up!! :-D

thanks - too bad you couldn't come this time.

This sounds like a lot of fun. We used to go to dinner theatres when we lived in Canada and enjoyed the immensely. We have travelled to Florida to visit relatives and went to the dinner theatre there too. I miss having this sort of entertainment in Nicaragua.

I very much enjoy dinner theatre and I am very glad we have an excellent one close to us. I am glad you enjoy it too. I'm sorry it is not available where you are living now. I was a theater major in college - in costume design and arts administration so I love that @paradise-found and I can enjoy it together.

In FL we went to the Broadway Palm in Fort Myers.

This post has received a 1.63 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @paradise-found. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80