[Grateful Vibes #62] I'm Grateful for a Pleasant Evening with My Family

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago

I'm grateful for a pleasant evening with my family.

Today we were invited over my family's house for dinner and visiting. Our neighbor came over to spend some time with us and with the children. We have a very enjoyable evening with good conversations and fun for the girls. Our neighbor brought some 'consumable' gifts for us and the girls... mostly candy and chips.

Daniel was very cooperative tonight.

He was wonderful tonight. Either sleeping peacefully or looking curiously around. He even smiled at me tonight, enough to make a daddy very happy.


Everyone had a chance to hold little Daniel. He didn't cry even while we were visiting!

My parents have an Amazon Echo this year.

My girls had a lot of fun with "Alexa" as they requested their favorite songs. They like to request specifically "Children bible music." or "Jesus loves the little children." It had to be children singing it, or they didn't like the song.

The girls really had fun dancing to the familiar music.


I'm suspicious of this listening device...

I gave "Alexa" an interrogation. She claims she's not connected to any nefarious organizations or government institutions. But I'm not so sure. I know she isn't only listening when the pretty blue light is on, since she listens for her name all the time. At once point I told my daughter I should ask Alexa to play "go tell it on the mountain" and that very moment the song began playing. I realized that I said the word "Alexa", and "play" but I didn't command her - it was a surprising reminder that she is listening, even if you are not speaking directly to her (it).

My parents aren't worried, although after I used a few choice words in her interrogation, my dad is wondering if the black helicopters are coming for them.

I'm grateful for this time with my family and I never want to take these moments for granted.

Every day passes us by and wonderful moments come and go. Time is so important and it passes so quickly. I'm very thankful for this time with my family and friends and I think about the people who are missing loved ones.

Our neighbor had lost her mother a few months back. She took care of her for many years and the final few months were extremely difficult. Since her passing, a great burden has been lifted, but there is also a great emptiness. Hearing her describing the last few months of her mother's life was very emotional for everyone.

Still, it was a pleasant evening and I'm grateful to live so close that we can easily spend time with my parents and enjoy their company.


This is 62 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-62-attitude-of-gratitude


Check out the previous Gratefulvibe: Grateful for our Bible Study group.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-61-i-m-grateful-for-bible-study


Sort:  

wow this is awesome :-) thank you for this post :-) God bless you and your wonderful family po :-)

Thank you very much. @ironshield

Lookd you Enjoy with your neighbor and family. More blessings to you bro.

It was a pleasant evening. Bless the Most High! @ironshield

What a lovely bond. Nothing like family

Thankful for my family, indeed! Thank you! @ironshield

the daily dose of been greatful is something i dont want to always miss @ironshield

Thank you, grateful everyday! @ironshield

Woohoo! ALEXA is always listening. Lolx.

I'm glad for you and your family having a nice time on Christmas day.
MERRY CHRISTMAS to you @ironshield @lturner and the babies especially Daniel the Great.
Wish you all the very best. Cheers!

#AIR-CLINIC

Thank you much nairadaddy! Daniel the Great sends his greetings. @ironshield

marry gratefulvibes christmas :D

Greetings pocket, change on! Always putting in your $0.02. @ironshield

It all adds up... lol...
@pocketechange

Thank you! And thank the Father that He sent His Son. @ironshield

First
You're always awesome article
Thanks for sharing

Hello @bcbana, welcome to Steemit!

Glad you enjoyed the article, it's one of a series called #gratefulvibes. There is still time for you to join, just write a post about something you are grateful for and tag it with #gratefulvibes. @ironshield

Hi @ironshield, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you for highlighting my post, and my wife's post! She says thank you! The level of closeness depends on personality. It takes constant practice to maintain a lifestyle of closeness with a spouse. @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43