[Grateful Vibes #23] I'm Grateful to God for the New and the Old!

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)

I am Grateful to God for the ability to purchase New Shoes.

Our family are not shoe people, meaning we usually only have a few pairs per person and we wear them out completely before investing in new ones.

We were given a refund card from DSW by one of my wife's sisters and my wife had some birthday money so off to the clearance aisle for some new shoes!

This is how we shop.

Like anyone, we enjoy nice things, but we can't often afford them. So we do what can to afford them however can. Like 50% clearance shopping.

My old shoes had made it to the end of their usefulness.

My first hint was when I walked outside in the rain. I found my sock getting soaked. I discovered that my shoe had 'cracked' at the bottom and was letting in moisture. The seams were falling apart and the tread was completely worn down.

There comes a time in every shoe's life, they must be disposed of.

Out with the old and in with the new.

So often this is our mindset: that everything that is old is worn out and useless - but there are instances where the complete opposite is true. Meaning that what is old is valuable and what is new belongs in the trash.

This is what YHVH says: "Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. But you said, 'We will not walk in it.'" Jeremiah 6:16

I used to love the new philosophies and new age secret knowledge. I would follow after the latest scientific trends and claims. I would adore the world's advice in every aspect in my life. I was not seeking the ancient way, because I had decided it was obsolete. Who want's to live like cavemen? I had been taken captive by the world. I said "I will not walk in it!"

See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the world, and not according to Christ. Colossians 2:8

One of the greatest gifts from God is the ancient path, the good way. Freedom from the empty philosophies of the world.

Today I'm really enjoying my NEW shoes, while using this NEW blockchain technology, while also greatly appreciating gift of the ancient path, the good way, the philosophy according to Christ.

I was taking a photo of my oldest with her new shoes and her sister was so happy for her that she gave her a big hug.

Bless the Most High for His Good Way!

@ironshield


This is 23 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-23-attitude-of-gratitude

Sort:  

I especially enjoyed seeing my husband get the first pair of good shoes he's gotten since we were married. And may I point out something he would never do: he humbly wears the cheapest shoes until they are completely worn out without complaining. I think some of his sore back and hip issues might get much better with this purchase!

i love you, @ironshield. And I enjoyed our shoe shopping trip very much!

Please excuse the PDA, but.... XXXXOOOO

@ironshield

Good one Sir. This cracked me up...

There comes a time in every shoe's life, they must be disposed of.

Lolx. Amidst the joys of using new shoes, using a new blockchain technology, you also explored the ancient mysteries of keeping the old because they are still useful.

Cheers man!

Nice to see your daughter giving and getting a physical #Hug-Challenge

Thank you @nairadaddy! I'm always grateful for your comments! My daughters would be experts at the #Hug-Challenge

Hello, friend,

Thanks for this very thoughtful reflection on our possessions, and our attitude towards them. You've blessed and refreshed me today.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you! It is a blessing to be able to bless others this way. @ironshield

A very thought provoking post on being grateful for what we have, not what we would like to have. Those shoes that you consider worn out beyond use would be sent to the repair shop here and for roughly $3.00 they would put on a new sole and restitch the seams. You would get another year at least from these old worn out shoes. It is all perspective. Looking for old ways to do things is not a bad thought.

That would be fantastic if we could do that here! I really did have that thought because I hate throwing things away, but getting them repaired would be difficult (there are not many shoe repair shops available anymore) and expensive. They were very inexpensive shoes to begin with and not made of real leather - I'm not sure if that would make repairing them more difficult or not. Now the new shoes might be worth repairing someday - they are of nicer quality and of real leather. An avenue to pursue in the future!

Anything that is new will later become old but it is good to make good use of it while it last. nice shoes

Today I'm really enjoying my NEW shoes, while using this NEW blockchain technology,

I really wish we could repair rather than replace. I don't like throwing things away. @ironshield

I hear ya, clearance shopping is the way. I think. Why pay full pull, when you can wait a few months and get it for 50% off. I too, am grateful for everything that God blesses me with.
God bless you my friend!

We normally do not shop at DSW, we're more of a Walmart / Payless family. But we had a return credit and good clearance opportunities! It's so important to be grateful, even for the little things. @ironshield

It's the small blessings that sometimes has the greatest impact on our lives. I appreciate your attitude of gratitude. It's easy to forget the value of ancient principles. Sometimes we get so wrapped up in the Troubles of Our Lives that we forget to appreciate the small blessings. Like a comfortable pair of shoes. Thank you for the reminder God bless :)

It's the small blessings that sometimes has the greatest impact on our lives.

Yes, the big blessings are remembered, but they become fading memories as time goes on. The small daily blessings are where the true gift of God is seen - even when things are difficult, or we don't get what we feel like we deserve. It's best to be happy with what you have.

Who is the rich man? He who is satisfied with his lot.

@ironshield

I also (used to) love the DSW clearance aisle! You can get some amazing buys there! I got some great rain boots for Panama from there at a great price. Glad you guys were able to buy some new shoes - I know that feels great to everyone's feet! Col 2:8 is powerful. Thanks for posting it. I'm glad that I read it. Think I will write it up and hang it where I can see it.

Our feet are feeling much better. My youngest tried on her first sneakers, she's very happy running around with her new shoes on. Yes, Col 2:8 is a good memory verse. Paul's warning to Timothy is good for us also:

Keep that which is committed to your trust, avoiding profane and vain babblings, and oppositions of science falsely so called. 1 Timothy 6:20

Yea for first tennis shoes! Love it when kids get happy over new stuff like that! Thanks for the verse! 2 good ones. 🙂

Yes God first! Before everything else

Absolutely! God is one! @ironshield

Shoes. Interesting.

While you were writing this yesterday, look what I was doing... https://steemit.com/fiction/@arbitrarykitten/shoe-5-minute-freewrite

And read the top comment! Crazy serendipidous brainwaves all around!

Yes, I saw your poem about shoes... very similar post I must say. Serendipitous brainwaves indeed! @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49