Grateful For Expat Friends and A Taste of The USA - Fun Friday by A Panama Mama

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago

When we moved to Panama, we had many expectations. One thing we did not expect was to find such a close knit expat community. We really love our local expat friends and enjoy the time we get to spend with them.

Some of our favorite friends ( @captcryptoswife and @superinvisible) are heading home to The States for Thanksgiving and Christmas, so our church small group decided to have a small early Thanksgiving. We hosted it at our house and there were around 20 adults and 9 kids here! There was a ton of food and everyone was happy!

We even found out there are some American yummies available at a local grocery store. You can buy Cool Whip this month to make some tasty treats. Dr Pepper is now available there until it sells out! There is also canned pumpkin available for a little while! TGIF Potato Skin chips on clearance. I had never had these before, but they are yummy!

Of course, I've mentioned the great candy corn run of 2017. These are special items that aren't normally available in this area, and, believe me, I've taken advantage! It's the little things that make living here more bearable sometimes.

We had a little Bible study after. This group is from the church we all attend that is bilingual. We love our friends and are so grateful for them! God has truly blessed us with other amazing expats - friends for us and for our kids!

IMG_6029.JPG

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Fun Friday will be brought to you here every Friday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for fun posts about our lives.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting, and I hope you have a FUN day!
!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR

Check this out on the steemit World Map
#gratefulvibes created by @paradise-found

Sort:  

The food and fellowship was great, a fun time for all.

Food, folks and fun on Friday.

Nice, I lived abroad as well ...I relate, great post

Cool, I didn't know that. What country are you in? Love expat people...here, there and yonder! ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=grateful-for-expat-friends-and-a-taste-of-the-usa-fun-friday-by-a-panama-mama


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Expressing grateful is important so that we do not take the things we have for granted. But that is not very effective tho.

What helps to stop taking things for granted is camping or traveling ALONE.

Anyway, every tiny bit counts to prevent developing princess syndrome.

The Bible tells us to "Give thanks to the Lord for he is good." Lol - princess syndrome. Very true - when we realize that all is a gift, we learn to be thankful for each little thing. I recently saw this article and video on facebook that I really liked about being thankful for the gifts of every day. I can't figure out how to get the video on here, but here's a link: https://www.foresthill.org/on_demand/125 :) Have a great day @valorforfreedom

Thank you very much Panamamama, you are a very kind woman.

Looks like a great day shared by all.

Been meaning to ask you for a while now, do you have a post on here about how you have adapted to the foreign lifestyle there in Panama?

That's a great idea. I haven't made a post about adjusting to life here, but I need to. For me, it wasn't as hard since I already speak Spanish, but it has still been an adjustment. I will make one soon and let you know when it's out! :)

Ooh, early Thanksgiving. Do they have turkey there? It's everywhere in the states, but I'm wondering if that's something that's available there. I personally don't really like it that much anyway, so curious to know what the main course is. Sounds like a great community.

Yes, we were able to find turkey at two stores that carry US items. I was surprised and they weren't terribly expensive. We ended up bringing a few chickens as well (which is what I prefer and ended up eating). :)

Thank you for joining the #gratefulvibes challenge!!
We have a place on Roatan Island, Honduras, many expats there as well!!
I will be following you, and your community!! Thank you!! :-D

That's really cool! I haven't ever been to Honduras, but living on an island sounds amazing! :)

Looks like a fun time!

When I lived abroad, I avoided other ex-pats for the most part, and made a lot of Spanish friends. I really miss living over there...

Of course, where I lived in southern Spain, the English-speakers were usually tourists from England, not residents.

Yeah I can understand how you would see visiting tourists instead of expats who have moved there in Spain. Expat life is different. We seem to constantly have people moving in and out of the area.

Always interesting to meet a countryman when living abroad, or find something from home that you miss! I remember finding canned peaches from a local Montreal grocery chain at store in Norway... then, when I did return home discovered the chain had closed down. "So that's what the peaches were doing in Norway!", I thought when I found out.

Yep! One friend last night was commenting that she used to hate Walmart and all the cheap Chinese junk they sold there. Until she came here and realized we get all the cheap Chinese junk they reject! Lol!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37